Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | May 14, 2010

Happy Spring!

Hi there!

With the weather in Boston being a little bipolar and my allergies going haywire, I am constantly reminded that it is the lovely spring season. I honestly do love spring though. The flowers blooming, green leaves back on the trees and time for me to let my bike break free from the shed its been hiding in all winter to see that beautiful Charles river it missed oh so much. Spring is my reminder that summer will soon be on its way!

This year, I am extra excited about spring and summer approaching for a particular reason. I HAVE A BACKYARD!! A huge one in fact. It’s basically a lot where another house could fit. Not only am I looking forward to many barbecues and catching some rays in my own backyard, but I am also super pumped because I’m breaking out the gardening gloves and jumping into the wonderful world of gardening. My roommate luckily is not new to the gardening world and has taught me a thing or two about it all. We decided to plant three things which she said are some of the easiest things to grow: lettuce, basil, and green beans. YAY FRESH VEGGIES right from my backyard. Talk about local food! No food miles wasted there.

We cleaned up the garden a couple weeks ago which was an experience in and of itself. It was a mess! Garbage, dead leaves, and weeds everywhere. So we had to get down and dirty…good thing I bought gardening gloves! I also got over my squeemishness (yes, I just made up a word) around bugs and worms (well…it got better, let’s put it that way) because let me tell you, once you start diggin in the dirt, you’re gonna see a lot of bugs and worms. Hey, it’s their territory, right?!


Let’s see a before and after action on this garden clean-up!

 

Now is that some clean-up or what?!

I’ll make sure to keep you posted about the garden as things get planted and start to grow! As of now, we planted a handful of lettuce leaves. Were going to wait on planting the green beans and basil until we get some warmer weather! The lettuce we are going to plant in increments this way we don’t have a million bunches of lettuce growing at once. I can only eat so much salad in a week! Watering the soil daily is really important too! Don’t want the little seeds to dry up! By the way, are you aware of how fast weeds grow back?! Because a few weeks after sowing the garden and the weeds are already growing back! So I guess weeding is going to be an ongoing process. It is all SO worth it though! To think that I am planting and caring for my own food right in my backyard is a pretty neat idea.

So what else is springy that’s happening with me??

A week and 1/2 ago I did the Walk For Hunger! Thanks to my family and friends who donated to Project Bread. The walk was 20 miles! I walked as a part of the MDA/MSDA (Massachusetts Dietetics/Student Association) group. My friends and I were troopers, we made it further than I thought we would. 15 miles baby!! My body was never before in my life so sore. My feet were burning by end and I had a couple of lovely blisters to take home with me as a souvenir. It was a gorgeous day out though, sunny and hot! Soaked up loads of vitamin D let me tell you! I was really happy I did the Walk for Hunger, it was actually the first walk I have ever done, and what a better cause to start out with than Project Bread, fighting hunger in Massachusetts.

And last but not least, let me share with you a few pics of spring in Boston that I’ve captured thus far. Enjoy!

  

Happy Spring!

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Do you have any gardening stories to share?!

 

Share

Responses

  1. Sweet post! Looks like you’ve been enjoying the Boston spring! That’s awesome that you’re going to be gardening. Definitely plant some peppers, tomatoes, and basil. I try to get heirloom varieties when I can. You can probably find these at Copley farmers market. Can’t wait to see your progress and awesome photos!

    • Hey Jess! Thanks for the tips on gardening! We don’t have tons of space right now but I definitely would like to plant more veggies maybe the next time around when I have some more room and some more experience 🙂 But basil is covered, we just planted that! I’ll be sure to keep you posted on how things go and share some pics!


Leave a Reply

Categories

