Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | July 28, 2010

A look into the food of Seattle

Rain & clouds. Those are the two words that people used to describe Seattle when I would tell them I wanted to check out the city. But when I got the opportunity to talk to people who have actually lived there or visited, it was a totally different story. They said it’s green and beautiful, the city is environmentally friendly, and the people there are health-conscious.

Oh, were they right! Last week I got the opportunity to take a trip across the country to Seattle, WA. I set up a rotation there for my internship so that I could learn more about integrative nutrition at the Bastyr Center for Natural Health. What got me intrigued to visit Seattle in the first place was my interest in Bastyr University, “the largest university for natural health arts and sciences in the U.S., combining a multidisciplinary curriculum with leading-edge research and clinical training.” I first discovered this school when looking at dietetic internship programs but now am considering it for graduate school.

So my boyfriend Steve, and I trekked up to Seattle and stayed at the University in dorm-style living. That’s right, high-class traveling all the way. So yes, I had to remember what it’s like to wear flip-flops in the shower and to only have a mini-fridge at your fingertips, but it was worth it! The University is located in the middle of St. Edward State Park which has tons of great trails for hiking, some leading to the beautiful Lake Washington. Let’s just say I had my fair share of exercise last week between hiking the trails and walking for hours upon hours around downtown Seattle.

Onto the food. I was surprised and inspired to see how Seattle dwellers are so in touch with their food and health. I saw it through the grocery stores, through the options at restaurants, and through the counseling appointments observed. Of course I am making a generalization right now and not everyone in Seattle is in touch with food and health, but I definitely picked up on a unique vibe there. The Pike Place Market was my first stop in Seattle and was I in heaven when I stepped foot in there! Imagine the biggest farmer’s market possible. Then times that by 10 and you have the Pike Place Market. Seriously, this place is home to over 100 farmers and over 200 commercial businesses. Not only do they have produce coming out of your ears, but the seafood is something they are pretty famous for. Caught right out of the Pacific Ocean, the seafood vendors sell fresh fish that they throw from behind the counter to the workers stationed in front; it’s fun to watch! My boyfriend kept poking fun at me because any time I saw someone giving a sample of fresh produce, I would run right over to take them up on it! I had a sample of a peach that was the biggest, juiciest peach I’ve ever eaten, hands down. And then of course, I had to buy one.


There is a handmade cheese stand called Beecher’s across the street that makes its own cheese in front of your eyes using locally-sourced milk made from cows that are fed high-quality diets and not treated with recombinant bovine growth hormones (rBST). We stopped in there to watch them make the cheese curds and Steve bought some of their famous macaroni n cheese made with their “jack” and “flagship” cheeses. I will never eat mac n’ cheese again because it will never ever compare to what I ate that day (okay I’ll probably eat it again BUT it definitely won’t compare). DELICIOUS! Exciting news: I just discovered on their website that they ship their mac n’ cheese overnight frozen so you can enjoy it freshly cooked in your oven!

If you ever visit Seattle, you MUST take a trip to the Pike Place Market! Stay tuned for more blogs about my food ventures in Seattle.

PS. I did not see one drop of rain the whole week but did see blue skies and a whole lotta sun! So there you Seattle haters! 🙂

 

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Have you ever been to Seattle? I would love to hear your experiences!


Share

Beecher's Handmade Cheese on Urbanspoon

Responses

  1. Seattle is on my list of places to visit. What an fun experience you had! And that mac and cheese sounded delicious. THe Bastyr program sounds intriguing. How was the internship experience?

    • You would love it there! The internship experience was really cool. I spent most of my time sitting in on student nutrition clinic shifts where the MS/DPD students have the opportunity to counsel patients while a supervising RD and other students watch the appt on a screen in another room. It was a cool way to have discussions and review the cases together. I also spent time with a Naturopathic medicine doctor and sat in on a whole foods cooking class where they cooked an anti-inflammatory menu and a fermentation menu. Most delicious class ever. Lastly, I took a tour of their medicinal garden where they grow all different herbs, plants, and produce.

  2. Great post! Really enjoyed it. Fantastic pics too! I think Seattle is the best city in the world and tt really has some great things to offer. I recently stumbled upon this blog (as I did yours) that I found pretty funny in its references to Seattle: http://burisonthecouch.wordpress.com/2009/06/23/theres-no-place-like-home-sort-of/

    Thanks for the post! Seattle rocks!

    • Thanks so much! I took over 100 pictures over the week that I was in Seattle because it just that beautiful. I’m glad you really like Seattle too. I read the blog you linked too, it was really clever. Thanks for sharing!

  3. […] They also compost which made me think of the numerous establishments in Seattle that compost (my trip to Seattle). I was happy to see it happening here and I hope that practice will continue to grow in this […]

  4. Thanks Kara 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

