Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | August 3, 2010

A look into the food of Seattle (part deux)

I said it before and I’ll say it again. Seattle dwellers are in touch with food and nutrition. But this time, let me explain what I mean. When I walked by restaurants, I would see advertisements for gluten-free options, vegetarian, vegan, dairy-free, yeast-free…and the list continues. When I would look at menus or walk into a grocery store, I would see local food, local food, and more local food. I also witnessed it in the counseling appointments I sat in on. Clients buy organic, they eat from their garden, they avoid gluten…you get my drift.

I don’t know what it is about Seattle that makes it such a foodie city. I wonder if it has anything to do with the alternative medicine movement being more prevalent there. Often, alternative practitioners focus on diet as part of their treatment and tune in to food sensitivities that may cause various symptoms from person to person. Therefore, they may recommend avoiding certain foods, which would cause people to need special foods available to eat! Maybe it ties into the relationship with their environment because Seattle is also a super environmentally-friendly city. The city composts! How cool is that?! I also felt like the biggest outcast because I didn’t pack my stainless steel water bottle with me so I shamefully had to buy some plastic water bottles while I was there. Well let me tell you that every single being in Seattle owns a Klean Kanteen or something of the sort. No plastic bottles for Seattle peeps. Rightfully so that Seattle is kind to mother nature, they have state parks galore and snow-capped mountains in the distance with a beautiful waterfront.

Here’s a look into my food adventure in Seattle:

Veggie reuben and tofu miso soup at Fare Start

I’ve never had a reuben before in my life, maybe it has something to do with the fact that I stopped eating meat at age 12. My Mom however goes crazy for them, so I was super psyched to see they had a vegetarian version of this sandwich that was such a glorified mystery.  They used Field Roast’s sundried tomato loaf and topped it with sauerkraut, swiss cheese, and thousand island dressing on marble rye bread. Survey says…I LOVED IT! Field Roast does a really good job with their vegetarian meats; it was my first time tying them. I’ll have to look for it in the grocery store. Fun fact: did you know that fermented foods like sauerkraut contain prebiotics which are good bacteria that promote healthy gut function?

Why else was Fare Start great? Check out their mission: “FareStart is a culinary job training and placement program for homeless and disadvantaged individuals. Over the past 18 years, FareStart has provided opportunities for over 3,500 people to transform their lives, while also serving over 4 million meals to disadvantaged men, women, and children.” Their motto: “the most socially responsible food you’ll ever eat”. So obviously, not only did I enjoy the food, I enjoyed supporting a do-good business.

Pizza, pizza, pizza. We ended up doing the pizza thang twice in Seattle. Once out of desperation of being stuck in Kenmore, WA with nowhere else to eat, the other time out of choice for a super cool bar atmosphere with fire grilled pizzas. Both times I got veggie loaded pizzas which were awesome.

We thought that Pizza Works, the place we went to out of desperation, was going to be a hole-in-the-wall, but it was actually amazing! They had a million and one vegetarian and vegan pizza choices with field roast meat toppings and ‘gourmet’ soy cheese available. They also had whole-wheat dough, gluten-free dough, and a dough that was gluten, egg, dairy, and yeast free! How many pizza places can you say have all those awesome options?! Only in Seattle!

Here’s our pizza from The Alibi Room


Venetian latte at Forza Coffee (made with rice milk and raw sugar!)

Other eats (with no pics, my camera was dead for a couple days..) include:

Appetizers at happy hour at Contour: Salad tossed in honey-blackberry vinaigrette, oranges, toasted pine nuts & dried cranberries and Hummus & arrabiata platter with toasted pita bread (one of the best hummuses I’ve had!)

Dinner at Ivar’s on the waterftont: sauteed manilla clams, wild alaskan coho salmon (omega-3s woo hoooo0), and local peach crisp.

Lunch at Tilkum Place Cafe: Grilled eggplant sandwich with goat cheese, tomato, and basil on bread from local bakery

Lunch at Anthony’s Fish Bar: Mahi-mahi fish tacos with mango salsa

Happy hour at Fisherman’s Restaurant. We went for the outdoor seating and view of the waterfront!

Breakfast burrito at The Gypsy Cafe and Pub. Also stopped by another night for a microbrew and to watch open mic night!

Lunch at Bastyr University’s vegetarian cafeteria: They only use whole foods and list out the ingredients of everything they serve! Also, are sensitive to food-allergies. Not so sensitive to carnivores but perfect for veggie lovers, or as my friend called me the other day a veggie-hugger 🙂 I tried their veggie loaf (I think made with cashews and rice among other things) with mashed potatoes and veggie gravy. One day I had black bean and mango soup and made my own salad with kale, sunflower seeds, carrots, tomatoes and tofu.

If you ever get the opportunity to visit Seattle, I highly recommend it. I would love to back!

I’ll leave you with a few more pictures.


Side note: Check out one one of my fav food & nutrition blogs by Jess to enter a giveaway for a $60 gift certificate to be used at one of CSN’s 200+online stores!

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

 

Share

Responses

  1. you have 4 weeks left in you DI? Kara that is so exciting! I am jealous of your Seattle adventure, I have never been but your pictures agree with all the wonderful things I have heard.

    • Yes, now down to three weeks! I can’t believe it! It went by so fast. Hope your DI is going well. Would definitely recommend a trip to Seattle if you ever get the chance!


Leave a Reply

Categories

