Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | August 20, 2010

Garden fresh. And the winner is…

So as you all know I took a little garden adventure this summer, digging in the dirt, making friends with worms, and what not. What you don’t know is the amazing outcome that I had! Check these babies out…

I loved having dirt on my veggies. Yes it sounds weird but its a sure sign that they are fresh and just picked! You should always wash your produce anyway. There may be dirt, but I can be sure there were no pesticides or chemicals on my green beans!

When I took a trip to the farmer’s market in Harvard Square last week, I was mesmerized by the heirloom tomatoes. There were so many different colors, shapes, and sizes. I had heard great things about heirlooms but had never tried them before, so this was my opportunity staring me blank in the face. I bought a few but had no idea which ones to try, there were so many! I went with the super cool looking red and yellow ones that were spotted yellow. Love me some funky tomatoes. They were such a good pick! You’re probably wondering what are heirloom tomatoes and why are they so special?

Heirloom tomatoes are considered “antiques” as the seeds are passed down from generation to generation. They are open-pollinated so the plant reproduces seeds that will stay true to the plant. Hybrid plants on the other hand (like the infamous beefsteak tomato) are commercially produced and grown under specific conditions. There are many varieties of heirloom tomatoes and each has its own distinct flavor that won’t compare to the flavor of a hybrid.

I had no idea what to do with my heirlooms after I bought them. I stared at them for a couple days but that didn’t do much good. Finally I did a quick google search to see what recipes were out there using heirlooms. I found this recipe for a tomato salad which was exactly what I was craving and just didn’t know it yet. I pretty much followed the recipe but omitted the parsley.

Yes, my knife says ‘tomato’ on it. You know you want one.

My beautiful heirloom tomato salad!

The heirloom tomatoes were unlike any store-bought tomato I’ve had, simply scrumptious. I love food from gardens and farmer’s markets. I can always taste the difference. If you have the space to garden, I highly encourage you to do it. It’s a lot of fun and you get to “care” for your food, give it water, sun, and some TLC. I will definitely be gardening again granted I have a backyard or some space in my next place.

Alright, the Uncle Sam moment you’ve all been waiting for…and the lucky winner is….

Lindsay!

Lindsay entered the drawing by tweeting about the giveaway. Congratulations, Lindsay, you’ve been randomly selected to win a free box of one of the healthiest cereals out there! Enjoy! It’s awesome. Send your contact info to peaceloveandfoodblog@gmail.com so we can mail you the box of cereal!

PS. On a side note, I graduate from my dietetic internship in one week from today! One step closer to becoming a RD πŸ™‚

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Have you tried heirloom tomatoes before? What’s your favorite way to eat them?

Why do you love gardening?

Responses

  1. The end is near!!! Congrats!!

    • thanks jess! πŸ™‚ so close..

  2. I need that receipe for fish tacos and that homemade salsa…sounds delish!

    • its from EatingWell, the link to the website is on my blog post! you’ll love it.

  3. That heirloom tomato salad looks awsome! I will be expecting to see some of that cooking when I come to visit!


Leave a Reply

Categories

