Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | August 26, 2010

Eating out…

Eating out can get a bad rep. I get the stereotype. The portions are big, you don’t know what ingredients are being used or where the food comes from, and maybe it’s not as healthy as what you would cook at home. But I LOVE eating out! Eating out is more than just the food, it’s the company. It’s the conversation. The laughs. Eating out is more about the experience than the food. I’m a believer that everyone should be able to go out, enjoy a meal with family and friends and not feel guilty about it! My key to eating out is choosing a restaurant that suits me. Do they serve local food? Do they have vegetarian options? Is it trendy? Do they support the community? Are they environmentally-friendly? If you find a place to eat that resonates with you, no need to feel guilty! My recommendation when eating out: take it slow, practice some mindful eating, and savor every bite! Don’t feel pressured to finish every last smidgen, bust out a to-go box and have a restaurant-quality lunch the next day!

Recently, I met with the lovely Elizabeth at Henrietta’s Table for a couple after-work cocktails. Henrietta’s Table totally suits me. Their tagline: fresh & honest. Well that pretty much sums up how I like my food :). Chef Peter Davis of Henrietta’s Table strives to use regional and organically-grown produce in their dishes. Click here for a list of their local vendors.

It was great catching up with Elizabeth. She is going to be a senior at Boston University, my alma mater <3, and this dietetics student is going places, let me tell you. Check out her new blog I am Guiltless and you’ll see what I mean!

Henrietta’s has an awesome seasonal drink menu, Elizabeth tried their blueberry mead made with Maine blueberries and I dabbled into huckleberry lemonade made with huckleberry infused vodka with fresh lemonade. I had never tried huckleberry before so I was intrigued and pleasantly surprised :). The berry itself can vary from sweet to tart with a flavor comparable to a blueberry.

Next on my list I made my way to Cambridge for a birthday dinner at the blue room in Kendall Square. The blue room was my kinda place too! Not only was the inside super trendy, and you can find “local minded, farm driven sort of seasonal cooking.” Love it. Also, super cool tidbit…Ms. Julia Child herself dined at the blue room from time to time and on the way out she told the chef “I love the blue room because it smells like a restaurant.” Me and Jules have something in common?! Sweeet. I wish I could tell you what was in the pasta I had that night but my mind fails me. Definitely some fennel, tomato, and goat cheese action..I think…:)

The real reason I love eating out besides eating delicious food is sharing a meal with lovely friends!

Don’t be afraid to eat out! Choose your restaurants and meals wisely and you will set yourself up for healthy delicious success! Remember to enjoy the experience, the people you’re with, and the food you’re eating.

Next blog post will be on …Eating in. See how I balance home cooked meals with my ventures out!

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

How do you choose a restaurant? Have you had any great dining out experiences? What do you love most about eating out?

Share


Henrietta's Table on UrbanspoonBlue Room on Urbanspoon

Responses

  1. I went to Henrietta’s for the first time this past weekend and loved it! They do some great things there.

  2. […] organizations that promote children’s advocacy and hunger relief. Like I said in my Eating Out post, it was definitely a restaurant that I felt good supporting and knew that the food would be […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

