Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | September 17, 2010

One last grill

Let’s be honest people. Fall is here to stay. The mornings and nights are chilly and the sun is going to bed earlier these days. I may even succumb and throw on a fall jacket one of these mornings instead of wrapping my arms around myself as I walk to work.

With the rise of a new season comes the fall (no pun intended) of another. Therefore it would only be appropriate to give good ol’ Summer the proper goodbye, adieu, fare thee well. Obviously, there is only one proper way to send off Summer. And that my friends is an ever so classic B.B.Q. Yup, a big ol’ grill fest. I’m staying with a couple of generous friends right now while I job hunt. Since I know nothing about grilling (I’ll put it on the to do list), my friend took over the grill while my other friend and I prepped the food.

So what was on the menu?!

Eggplant, red pepper, summer squash. Drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with Chef Paul Prudhomme’s vegetable magic. My friend Jill was very excited for her hands to appear on this blog :).


Corn on the cob with olive oil and paprika.


Wild caught salmon for moi and chicken for my friends.


Veggies sweatin on the grill.


Veggielicious.


A lil bit o everything.


Why not add a little more color to the mix? Heirloom cherry tomato salad.


Grill season may be over or on its last few days…but we can look forward to more next time around. Are you not a veggie fan? No worries! Many people enjoy veggies more once they spend a little time on the grill. So give it a try! Next summer, I hope to learn a thing or two about the grill and buy one of my own! Peaches and pineapple are at the top of my list for foods to try grilled. It’s always nice to have something to look forward to :).

But for now I’ll look forward to the fall and the beautiful foliage. Apple picking and baking homemade apple pie. Pumpkin, squash, and more pumpkin. Oh, and my birthday. Ahh the fall. Welcome, hello, bonjour.

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

What is your favorite thing to throw on the grill?

Leave a Reply

Categories

