Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | October 18, 2010

How to celebrate being a new registered dietitian

I have exciting news to share with you all today…I am officially a registered dietitian!

A registered dietitian (RD) is a food and nutrition expert who has met requirements set by the American Dietetics Association to earn the RD credential. To become a registered dietitian, you must have at least a bachelor’s degree with required relevant course work. You must also complete an approved dietetic internship to meet a minimum number of hours of supervised practice in the field. Finally, you need to pass a national examination. RDs maintain their registration by completing continuing professional education requirements so you can be sure we’re up-to-date on the latest nutrition info! Check out this article to learn how meeting with a registered dietitian can benefit you!

I put in my study time spending countless hours with my face buried in the Jean Inman study guide. But it paid off! As of last Wednesday I am a RD! And what a beautiful Wednesday it was. The sun was shining and there was not a cloud in the sky. To treat myself to a great accomplishment, I decided to take myself out to lunch :). I went to Ula’s Cafe in Jamaica Plain. They have a delicious assortment of sandwiches made on fresh-baked artisan bread from a local bakery. Ula’s uses fresh ingredients and I was pleased to see a notice on their menu board that they were substituting red peppers for tomatoes since tomatoes were no longer in season. They also compost which made me think of the numerous establishments in Seattle that compost (my trip to Seattle). I was happy to see it happening here and I hope that practice will continue to grow in this area.

My treats at Ula’s

Roasted sweet potato with avocado, Monterey jack, red bell peppers, red onion, sprouts and yogurt-tahini-poppy seed spread on peasant white.

Also known as heaven on earth…Seriously this sandwich was a perfect fall treat and actually my first sweet potato of the season. It was delightfully paired with sunshine and a table outside to enjoy it! As I slowly savored my sandwich and all the unique flavors paired together, I reflected on the exam, my road to become a RD, and the accomplishment I had just experienced. It all seemed sort of surreal, and to be honest it still kind of does. But I am thoroughly enjoying telling people I am a registered dietitian when they ask “what do you do?” I also loved changing over all my social media outlets to reflect my new credential and status! Check out the new ‘about me’ section, some blog revamping is going on! Did you notice the new tagline?

I also had to order a little chocolate delight at Ula’s. And that’s exactly what I got. A ‘chocolate coin’ they call it is the perfect sized treat just enough to give you the satisfaction of warm chocolate gooeyness.

I may have already taken a bite out of it…I couldn’t resist! 🙂

Later that night, I met the lovely future RD, Elizabeth, for a brilliant cocktail flight at Ten Tables JP. A few of the cocktails we tried – thai basil gimlet, spicy pear martini, and lemongrass saffron martini. I would love to go back for dinner sometime because if the food is as good as their cocktails, I know I will be more than pleased.

I will be starting a new job soon as a registered dietitian at the Weight and Wellness Center at Tufts Medical Center. I will be doing outpatient counseling primarily for adults seeking weight loss surgery. I’m really excited and grateful to have my first job be something that I truly enjoy.


Peace, love, and food,

Kara, RD (I had to 🙂 )

When have you experienced a great feeling of accomplishment? Do you have a favorite sandwich shop or favorite sandwich?

Share

Ula Cafe on Urbanspoon

Responses

  1. congats again!!!! those cocktails were beyond amazing, we must go back asap!!

  2. Sooo happy for you……congrats & I owe you a belated happy birthday!

  3. CONGRATS again!!!

  4. Congratulations, Kara!
    I’m so happy for you!
    🙂
    Oh, and by the way – that sweet potato sandwich looked ah-mazing… hahahah!

  5. Oh wow! Congrats!! Such an amazing feeling isn’t it? Looks like you found a fun job! I just hope you can help people see they don’t need that surgery!! Best of luck!

  6. Congrats on the new credential and the new job! (I love roasted bell peppers on my sandwhiches too)


Leave a Reply

Categories

