Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | November 20, 2010

Be creative in the kitchen!

The other night I had nothing planned for dinner. The horror! What’s a girl to do? I came home in a ravenous frenzy and flung open the fridge hoping there would be a magical meal waiting for me. No such luck. But I did see leftover quinoa, garbanzo beans, carrots, and spinach.

 

Now we’re talking. So I chopped up the carrot and washed the spinach. Then I grabbed some garlic to mince. I threw a little olive oil in a pan to heat then added the veggies and garlic. Once the veggies were tender, I added the garbanzo beans and quinoa. Once the ingredients were warmed, I topped it off with a little salt & pepper.

Voila! I had a delicious and healthy meal in front of me! Made in no time. An added bonus – the quinoa and garbanzo beans make it a vegetarian protein-packed dinner! If you ever find yourself in a sticky situation like I was, get creative in the kitchen! Check out what ingredients you have available and make something out of it. You will be surprised with what tasty concoctions you come up with!

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Have you ever created a delicious meal with a few ingredients lying around?


Share

Responses

  1. That looks really good. I love just tossing whatever is “leftover” on my shelves together and coming up with something new and fun.

    I know this will link to my other blog, so if you have any interest in my real blog it is http://nutrfoodtrvl.blogspot.com. I’m an RD too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

