Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | December 10, 2010

Fun and flavorful fajitas

The other week at work, my coworkers were on a Mexican kick.  No, I don’t mean they were wearing sombreros or shaking maracas around the clinic. I’m talking food people. Good ol’ Mexican food like quesadillas and fajitas. I was surrounded by the smells of cumin, cayenne pepper and chili powder. Tortillas, beans, and veggies on my mind.

I obviously had no other choice but to succumb to my cravings and take a little trip to Trader Joe’s to get the essentials: black beans, red and green peppers, onion, cheese, whole wheat tortillas, salsa, and a mix of spices that TJ conveniently combined to create a taco seasoning mix.

I sauteed the onions and peppers with a bit of EVOO and garlic and added a little of the taco seasoning (chili powder, paprika, cumin, pepper, sea salt) to the veggies. Once the onion and peppers were tender, I added the black beans to the mix to absorb the flavor.

I transferred the goods to a serving dish and used the frying pan to heat the tortillas until they were warm and slightly browned.

Once the tortillas were warm, I added the veggies and beans and topped it off with shredded cheese mix (monterrey jack, mozzarella, and cheddar). I had some salsa on the side too. What’s Mexican food without salsa?!

Mexican food can get a bad rep in the nutrition world. Some fast-food Mexican restaurants load their dishes with sodium and fat. However, I believe that making Mexican at home can be super healthy! For more tips on how to make healthy Mexican food at home, read my post on Terrific Tacos and find a recipe for fish tacos and tomato and avocado salsa. The fajitas I made that night were packed with fiber from the veggies, beans, and whole wheat tortillas, and contained lean protein from the beans. Healthy fajita? I’d say so.

If you find yourself in the midst of a Mexican craving, make it a taco or fajita night at home! And on that note, I’m going to enjoy my bean and cheese enchilada leftovers from Sol Azteca. If you’re in the Boston area and looking for authentic Mexican food and atmosphere, I would highly recommend it.

Peace, love, and Mexican food,

Kara

Share

Responses

  1. I love Mexican food and am happy I can enjoy it and still be healthy.
    What is EVOO? I have never heard of that.

    Thank you

    • I’m glad you enjoy Mexican food too! EVOO is just an abbreviation I used for extra virgin olive oil. Sorry for the confusion 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

