Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | January 15, 2011

Darryl’s Corner Bar & Kitchen

A few weekends ago, Steve and I had a date night, dinner & a movie. After an hour of browsing Open Table and skimming over menus, I decided on the new trendy restaurant, Darryl’s Corner Bar & Kitchen.

Darryl’s is known for its comfort food, live music, and lively bar atmosphere. Their menu focuses on comfort food with Southern flare. Dishes like fish chowder, buttermilk fried chicken, and jambalaya make you feel like you’ve magically transported to the warm, sunny South. They also have live music which was the selling point for me. Jazz or R&B bands jam out at Darryl’s every night so you can’t miss em. The night we had dinner there, a latin jazz band was playing and they were awesome. I wanted to get up there and rock the congas like this guy was. There’s nothing like watching people express the art that they love. It’s inspiring.

I started dinner out with a little Bubbly Love…a cocktail with white rum, peach, prosecco, and grenadine cherry garnish.

For dinner, I had mussels with white wine, garlic, rosemary fries, and garlic mayo. YUM! The garlic mayo on the fries was am-az-ing. Not the healthiest, so I balanced out the entree with a side of veggies.

Ta da! A side of sauteed green beans for a little…greenery.

The guy on the congas was fierce. New goal: learn how to play the congas :).

I also had a piece of delicious red velvet cake for dessert but apparently was too excited to eat it that I forgot to take a picture.

Darryl’s has been featured all over Boston media lately. Recognized as diner’s choice for 2010 in OpenTable, featured in Boston.com as the best of new food and restaurants, and written up in Boston’s Metro.

If you are in the mood for good old Southern comfort food, want to check out some live music, or just into checking out a new trendy spot in the city Boston, I would highly recommend Darryl’s Corner Bar & Kitchen.

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Darryl's Corner Bar & Kitchen on Urbanspoon

Responses

  1. Daryl’s sounds great!
    I bet you and Steve had a blast together 🙂

  2. I hadn’t heard of Darryl’s until last night. I’ll have to check it out at some point. Those mussels look great!

  3. Hi Kara! It was great meeting you last night! I’m reading a bunch of your old posts. Excited to find a new Boston Blogger!!
    I love mussels – those look delicious!

  4. So good to meed you the other night! I have heard all the buzz about this place. your cocktail and those mussels look fantastic. I look forward to checking it out one of these days.

  5. i’ll take you up on your resolution to master the congas 🙂 can’t wait to try the red velvet cake (& glorifried chicken) next time. thanks for the vivacious writeup.


Leave a Reply

Categories

