Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | February 3, 2011

Dinner at Church

The other night I had dinner with friends at Church. No, no not the cathedral down the street, the restaurant in the Fenway area!

Church of Boston is half restaurant, half nightclub. Connected in the same building, the restaurant gives off a contemporary Gothic vibe with their stained glass windows and overall decor. The nightclub features a variety of music every night of the week including rock, metal, indie, and folk. I haven’t seen a show here yet but I have been to the restaurant a few times now. I went twice this past summer for dinner and drinks with friends and both times we sat outside on their ever so nice patio. I don’t know what it is about being tucked away in a residential neighborhood, but their patio does a nice job of making you feel like you’ve escaped into another world that is not the city of Boston.

I was excited to meet my friends at Church once again but this time for their indoor dining experience. Leather couches and love seats in the dining area make it feel cozy and warm and is a perfect option for those looking to lounge.

Their food menu focuses on comfort foods, bar bites, sharing plates, and entrees. Their cocktail menu is fun, the drinks are very colorful and are named after the seven deadliest sins. I indulged in Vanity – a vodka martini with fresh squeezed, sweetened ruby red grapefruit.

My friend Sara ordered Envy – a lovely green martini with vodka and freshly diced kiwis.

For the appetizers, we split fried artichoke hearts with lemon aioli.

And roasted garlic hummus with grilled pita, feta, cucumbers, and olives.

Then came the entrees…

I ordered grilled salmon with lobster bisque, grilled potatoes, and fennel salad. The dish was fine but I wouldn’t order it again. The salmon was a little overcooked and I had a different vision in my mind for how this dish would present.

Next time, I would order this instead- pan roasted scallops with mushroom risotto, truffle butter, and braised winter greens.

This was also delicious- Orianna ordered the baked mac n cheese with truffle oil Ritz crackers and sea salt.

Michelle tried the eggplant sliders with roasted red peppers, arugula, and goat cheese.

Great food, great drinks, with great friends.  We were too busy taking pictures of food that we forgot to capture the company! That just means we have another excuse to go back once again. If you’re looking for a fun girl’s night out, I would definitely recommend Church.

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Responses

  1. I’ve actually only been to Church for a show and to play pool! I’ve been meaning to head back to check out the food, looks very tasty!

  2. I love the drinks at church! With names like envy lust and vanity how could you not??? haven’t tried their food-but it looks delicious!


Leave a Reply

Categories

