Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | March 22, 2011

Irish love for St Patrick’s Day weekend

Kiss me, I’m Irish.

Or just read my blog post because I’m Irish… Either way.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! I hope all you of you had a fun St. Patty’s Day weekend full of bagpipes, green, Guinness, and soda bread.

On Thursday night I braved the streets of Boston with all its drunk Irish crazies (of which I decided half are Irish, the other half are just looking for an excuse to celebrate!) I couldn’t believe how many people were out and waiting in very long lines at every Irish pub. I thought there were enough Irish bars in Boston to balance out all its Irish folk. My theory was proved wrong. After some wandering we finally settled in line at Dillon‘s since the line seemed to move pretty fast. Plus, they insisted we come in for a pint.

While waiting in line I captured the Pru showing some Irish love.

I was hoping for green beer to be festive but green beer was not to be found anywhere at Dillion’s. Not until I was in to my Magner’s Irish cider did I catch a couple green beers flying by me. Oh well, the Magner’s satisfied my fix.

And an Irish car bomb, you know what they say, when in Ireland…

Green, anyone?

On Friday it was a gorgeous Spring day in Boston and I took a long stroll around Brookline and JP with City Feed as my destination. The luck of the Irish was with me – they were selling a special vegetarian sandwich for St Patty’s Day – tofu brined in corned beef spices with house made coleslaw, local Swiss, Russian dressing on Rye. It was am-az-ing. I was so happy to savor the sandwich while reading the Spring issue of Edible Boston. This was my second vegetarian Rueben experience! Remember the veggie Reuben at Fare Start in Seattle?

On Sunday, I prepared for my Irish feast. Corned beef and cabbage minus the corned beef. Last year I made cajun tempeh bacon courtesy of Janel. This year, I decided to try something new and searched vegan blogs left and right for a corned beef substitute. I found a few recipes (like this one) that seemed pretty time consuming and labor intensive, essentially making your own seitan. I decided to cut a few steps (and a few hours) and cook already prepared seitan. Seitan is a vegetarian protein made from wheat that is most comparable to beef. I decided to use this recipe for my seitan corned beef mockery inspiration.

The night before, I baked Irish soda bread, a recipe given to me by my Aunt Joanne. You can find the recipe on last year’s post. I love Carraway seeds and I think that is why the reason why I love this recipe so much. That or I love carrying on family traditions. Maybe both 🙂

Can’t call it an Irish feast without your thrifty root vegetables.

Place them in a big ol’ pot of boiling water and add your spices like cloves, peppercorns, and bay leaves.

Meanwhile check on your seitan that ended up tasting no where near corned beef (in seitan’s defense, that taste is hard to replicate). It also ended up strangely resembling apple chips (at least in this picture).

Reheat the Guinness Beef Stew your friend brought along for the meat lovers.

Wash it all down with…

A cold green beer! The only time of the year I succumb to food dye.

For dessert, Elizabeth baked awesome chocolate whiskey vegan cupcakes. She’s kind of amazing. And by kind of I mean totally.

I was happy to share my Irish dinner with a few good friends. Making a boiled dinner and baking soda bread is an Irish tradition I will never let down. Every time I have this meal I am reminded of the St. Patty’s Days I had growing up and the cherished time spent with family.

May the luck of the Irish be with you.

Peace, love, and food,

Kara


Share

Responses

  1. thanks for inviting me to your irish feast love!!

  2. Looks like you had a fabulous Irish feast! I went to City Feed last fall and loved it. What an awesome little gem in JP!


Leave a Reply

Categories

