Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | April 4, 2011

NuNaturals’ NuStevia TM Giveaway!

Artificial sweeteners. Good or bad? This question often comes up with my patients. There is a lot of controversy over whether or not artificial sweeteners are healthy to use. In the end, it comes down to professional opinion. Some dietitians swear by them, others won’t touch them. I’m somewhere in the middle. On a day to day basis, I use raw honey, agave nectar, or natural cane sugar in my morning tea. I haven’t always been a Natural Nancy however. I went through a Splenda splurge in college and then realized I was relying too heavily on it. That relationship ended almost as quickly as it began.
Do I think there is a place for artificial sweeteners? Yes, in moderation I think these non-nutritive sweeteners can be useful for those trying to lose weight or for those with Diabetes. I always tell my patients there is not enough research on the long-term effects of these sweeteners on humans. So, use in moderation. And then I get the question, isn’t Stevia better for you? It’s more natural, right? Stevia is a dietary supplement that is derived from the plant Stevia Rebaudiana which is grown for its sweet leaves. Derived from a plant, Stevia is considered more natural to its counterpart artificial sweeteners which are chemically formulated. But we also don’t have a ton of research on the long-term effects of this product either. However, Stevia, native to Central and South America, has been used in these countries for years. In June 2008, the World Health Organization’s Joint Expert Committee on Food Additives, a panel of food ingredient safety experts, concluded that Stevia is safe for use as a general purpose sweetener. The Committee set a safe daily intake of 0-4 milligrams per kilogram of body weight as steviol glycosides. The bottom line: Just as I use my natural sources of sugar ie. honey, cane sugar, agave, in moderation, non-nutritive sweeteners should be used in moderation as well.

I hadn’t tried Stevia until NuNaturals‘ NuStevia TM was kind enough to send me products to review.

Pure Liquid Clear Stevia Extract, Pure Liquid Vanilla Stevia Extract, NuStevia White Stevia Extract Quick Dissolve Tabs, NuStevia White Stevia Extract Powder, NuStevia White Stevia NoCarbs, Pure Liquid Cocoa Bean Extract, and MoreFiber Stevia Baking Blend.

I tried out a couple of these in my morning cup of tea.

One packet was a little too sweet for me. I tried 1/2 the packet the next morning and was very pleased by the taste. Not too sweet and not bitter.

I also tried the Quick Dissolve Tabs. They aren’t kidding when they say quick dissolve – these babies disappear in an instant! One tab was sweet enough without being too sweet.

I love the Vanilla and Cocoa Bean flavored liquid Stevia. These were perfect for plain Greek yogurt. Plain Greek yogurt by itself is too tart for me but adding the Stevia made for a delicious snack! Add some defrosted blueberries and you got yourself a perfect afternoon munch!

NuNaturals also sent me a thick booklet of recipes developed by consumers who use their products. The recipes are amazing and I can’t wait to try some of them! Right now, I have banana muffins on the brain. Overall, I was very happy with NuNaturals’ Stevia products and will continue to use them in moderation in my Greek yogurts, tea, and baking endeavors.

NuNaturals was kind enough to host a free giveaway for Peace, Love, and Food readers!

They are offering to award multiple products to FOUR lucky readers! Wooooo! Winners will receive one box of NuStevia packets, 50 ct. box, and one bottle of NuNaturals Vanilla Stevia Liquid, 2 oz bottle.

So what do you have to do to enter?!

1. Receive one entry by commenting on this post why you would love to try NuNaturals Stevia products.

2. Receive another entry by tweeting: Free giveaway by @karalydonRD. Enter to win NuNaturals Stevia products by 4/6! http://wp.me/pL33i-lk Don’t forget to come back here and leave another comment that you tweeted!

3. Receive TWO entries by posting a link to this giveaway (http://wp.me/pL33i-lk) on your blog and then leaving another comment here with a link to your blog post.

I will choose one winner using random.org and announce the winner on 4/7. This giveaway is open to US Continental residents only.

Good luck!

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Disclaimer: I was not compensated by NuNaturals for promoting its products.

Share

Responses

  1. Id love to try them because i use truvia, but have always wanted to branch out and try other sweeteners. I have just been to chicken because of how expensive, haha! So this would be amazing to win πŸ™‚

  2. I would love to win this and try the vanilla stevia in my smoothies! I love stevia and stay away from splenda – it triggered seizures in me so I definitely stay away!
    Thanks for giveaway!

  3. I tweeted! http://mobile.twitter.com/missle/status/54901112997810177

    I don’t have a blog or I’d do that too! πŸ˜‰

  4. I would love to try this product. I too, went through the splenda stage, back and forth with raw sugar, and I am now trying “truvia”. I am a bit concerned since there isn’t that much research, but I am willing to try.

  5. The only experience I have with artificial sweeteners is a disastrous Advanced Foods Lab in which we made a billion muffins with all different types of sweeteners. I’ve been scared from using them ever since but I’d love for that to change!

  6. I just tweeted!
    http://twitter.com/#!/KewParkes

  7. Stevia is good!! But i feel some kind of aftertaste sometimes when i have with my morning cereal. Alternative sweeteners, great choice when cutting back on calories. Small amount= tons of flavor πŸ˜‰

  8. https://twitter.com/rlnatalia/status/55393435972145152 done!!

  9. I feel the same way about artificial sweeteners- they’re not my favorite, but every once in awhile there’s a place for them! I’ve been wanting to try NuNaturals to experiment with some baking!

  10. Stevia is supposed to be more natural for you than other sweeteners, that’s why I’d like to try it


Leave a Reply

Categories

