Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | April 7, 2011

Shrimp & Grits AND The winner of the NuNaturals’ Stevia Giveaway

This past Sunday I decided to channel my inner Southern Belle and make shrimp & grits. Ok, let’s be real, I’m far from a Southern Belle. However, I did play Truvy Jones (Dolly Parton) in Steel Magnolias in High School so I’ve done Southern. Just don’t ask me to recall my Southern accent now, it would embarrass Dolly.

My friend Jill cooked shrimp and grits a while back for a birthday dinner for moi. Everyone (including my biggest critic Steve) enjoyed it. So Steve and I decided to embark on a new shrimp & grits recipe: Shrimp and Hot Sauce Cheese Grits from the Food Network.

The shrimp was sauteed with mushrooms, garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, white wine, and green onion (I opted out on the bacon). Delicious & simple!

 

They weren’t kidding by naming them HOT sauce cheese grits. Cayenne pepper and paprika added a big kick in the pants to this dish. I’m glad I tested this before I added the hot sauce! I like spicy but not burn-your-tongue-spicy!

 

Will definitely make this shrimp again – would taste great over whole-wheat pasta! I might make the grits again but I think I’ll have to pull the baby card next time and decrease the cayenne pepper!

Now for the moment you have all been waiting for…

Announcing the FOUR winners of the NuNaturals NuStevia Giveaway (via Random.org)

Missy (@Missle), Kaylynne (@KewParkes), Tracy, and Natalia (@rlnatalia)

Congratulations! Please email your mailing addresses to peaceloveandfoodblog@gmail.com so that you can receive your free Stevia!

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Have you ever tried grits? How were they prepared? A fan or not a fan?

 

 

Responses

  1. Oh my! I won! I’m so excited 🙂

    Well, I’m southern, so yes, I have never not eaten grits! I just grew up eating them (cooked in 1/2 water and 1/2 milk to make them creamy) with butter, salt and lots of pepper! I love the breakfast grits casserole as well. I’ve never had the shrimp and grits but I’ve seen tons of recipes. I’ve also noticed where some people eat it sweet (like cream of wheat), but I’ve never done that – but maybe I’ll try it with my new stevia!
    But yes, I love grits!!
    Thank you for the giveaway!

    • Oh I emailed but it came back as “undeliverable” and didn’t go thru. I tried twice.


Leave a Reply

Categories

