Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | April 11, 2011

Combat the workweek lunch blues!

Got the workweek lunch blues?

Are you so sick of that turkey sandwich you bring every day that you are ready to toss that bad boy out? Are you done spending money on take-out? Does the workweek lunch hour got you feeling down?

If you answered yes to any of the questions above, it is likely you have a case of the workweek lunch blues.

For myself, I can get stuck in lunch time meal ruts. There have been times where peanut butter and jelly has made a regular appearance at the clinic. While I love me some pb & j, a girl gets bored after a while! I want to keep it healthy, fresh, and easy. That’s why lately I have been trying out some different lunch salads. I make a big batch on Sunday and portion it out into Tupperware, that way I don’t worry about anything the night before work! All the prep work is done on Sunday! Talk about convenient!

One week was taco salads. See my taco salad obsession here.

Last week, I made salads with: red + green bell pepper, grated carrots, garbanzo beans, hard boiled egg, and Parmesan cheese. I also brought in my own dressing, a simple mixture of balsamic vinegar and olive oil.

Hard boiling eggs on a Sunday is a great way to ensure you are getting a good source of protein for the upcoming week!

 

Portion those salads out and you have got yourself some lunches ready and raring to go!

Don’t let the workweek lunch blues get you down! Change it up! Add some avocado to that turkey sandwich. Plan ahead! Bring food from home so that you save money on take-out. Keep it convenient! Taking 15 minutes on a Sunday to prep for the week ahead can save you time, money, and a head-ache during the workweek.

What will YOU do this week to prevent or cure the workweek lunch blues?

Peace, love, and food,

Kara


Share

Responses

  1. I love eggs on my salad! I just boiled a dozen yesterday. I made a great salad last night with spinach, sweet peppers, green onions, tomatoes, cucumbers, mushrooms, tuna, eggs, cottage cheese, and balsamic vinegar dressing. It was so very good! I definitely like to use different themes for my salads to keep it unique (Asian, Mexican or italian spices)!

  2. Hey Kara,
    Fellow Buffalonian that stumbled across your blog & I love it! 🙂 I totally relate to the work-week lunch blues, but all it takes is a little advanced thinking and preparation on Sundays to cure it (why is that so much easier said than done?). Thanks for the tips!

  3. I’ve been doing the exact same thing at home but for my dinners! It’s been so nice since I don’t have to worry about making salads throughout the week and you’re right it’s super quick and easy! Luckily at work we get free lunch so I usually go to the salad bar (which I love!). Wouldn’t it be nice if we could all have a prepared salad bar at home? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

