Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | April 15, 2011

5 Napkin Burger: Veggie Burger Heaven

Last Saturday was a gorgeous day in Boston. Temps in the 60’s. Sun shining bright. Felt so good to be outside.

Perfect weather for the Sox’s second home game of the season! My friend Topher (Christopher) and I decided to check out the vibrant energy at the Green Monster.

If you are watching a Sox game at a bar in the Fenway area, this is the place to be! I had heard great things about Bleacher Bar but never experienced it for myself. Located right underneath the bleachers of Fenway Park, if you play your cards right, you can maneuver your way over to the glass gate to get a peak at the field.

What could be better than a beautiful day in Fenway? How about a beautiful burger from the new and highly acclaimed 5 Napkin Burger?!

5 Napkin Burger has gotten a lot of buzz after just opening recently in the Prudential Center. With three other locations in NYC, 5 Napkin Burger brought some trendy NYC flair over to the Bean. I heard that the veggie burger here was out of this world so obviously I had veg-burg on the mind all weekend. I convinced Topher and Steve that it was worth the walk over to the Pru AND worth the 45 minute wait. We lingered at the bar while waiting for our table and were pleasantly surprised when 25 minutes later our table was ready!

I was starving and couldn’t wait to sink my teeth into this veggie burger. The menu is not-your-average burger joint menu. Offering a variety of sushi as well as entrees including fish tacos and mac n’ cheese, this place is full of surprises.

Topher ordered the Original 5 Napkin Burger, a 10 oz. fresh ground chuck burger with gruyere cheese, caramelized onions, rosemary aioli, on a soft white roll. If I was a meat eater the appearance of this burger would have had me salivating. And 3 minutes after we were served, his burger magically disappeared. It obviously tasted as good as it looked.

Steve ordered the basic cheeseburger with cheddar and although ate more slowly than Topher, he thoroughly enjoyed his burger as well.

Any guesses on what I ordered?! You got it – the 5 Napkin Veggie Burger, housemade with 5N sauce, b&b pickles, lettuce & tomato, on a multi grain roll. They could also call it heaven on a bun. It would be an accurate description. I love when you can bite into a veggie burger and taste all the vegetables and grains that went into the making. No textured soy protein in this bad boy! Even its color was unlike anything I had ever seen before in a burger. Two thumbs up 5 napkin.

What’s a burger without fries? I ordered the Sweet Potato fries. They were yummy but not the best I’ve ever had. I have been spoiled with sweet potato fries from a young age. If you are ever in Buffalo, NY in the Summer- make sure to stop by Old Man River. And Don’t forget to invite me. Be prepared for your sweet potato fry standard to be raised.

The boys ordered the Tuscan Fries which were flavored with Parmesan and rosemary. A nice flair.

I think all three of us would agree the trip to 5 Napkin Burger was definitely worth it! I’m sure I will be making a return visit soon enough!

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

What is your favorite burger joint?

Share

5 Napkin Burger on Urbanspoon

Responses

  1. I am not a burger person, so I don’t have a favorite burger joint – I guess my kitchen is my fave, since I can create a healthy burger like I want and in any combo that I can think of! That veggie burger looks great. I want to make the beet veggie burger that I saw on the fatfreevegan blog. It looks so pretty and good!

  2. Good to hear a review of the veggie burger! I’m glad to hear that it was a good experience both veggie and non veggie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

