Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | April 24, 2011

Happy Easter!

Wishing all of my readers Happy Easter and Passover celebrations.
 
I am back in Buffalo, NY this weekend visiting my family.
We spent the weekend living up to our Easter traditions.
 
A visit to the Broadway Market, a market filled with family-owned food stands serving Buffalo since 1888.


This diner has a symbolic meaning in my family. Rewind to 20 years ago when I was the ripe age of three. All I wanted that year was a butter lamb. Seriously, I wanted this butter lamb as though my life depended on it. My mother repeatedly shut me down. But Grandma tried to save the day by purchasing me my very own butter lamb. Little did the family realize that I had been eyeing up the extra large butter lamb that is for display purposes only. When my Grandma handed me the small (and when I say small I mean standard size) butter lamb, I was so distraught I threw the small butter lamb across the floor and proceeded to run like a crying maniac around the crowded Market until low and behold I found a nice cozy hiding spot right under a stool at this diner above. Unfortunately, some diners blew my cover as my Mom and Grandma approached. Busted. Spend an Easter Sunday with my family or mention the Broadway Market and you are sure to get a recap of this story. Apparently it never gets old  🙂

 

(Go Sabres!)

And we can’t forget about Easter Bread! Check out the recipe and my Easter Bread experience last year here. Here are some photos from the baking of this year’s Easter Bread.

 What traditions did you celebrate this weekend?

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Responses

  1. Loved the broadway market story….and your right the butter lamb story will go on forever!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

