Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | May 10, 2011

Equal Exchange Coffee Giveaway

I gave into the magical powers of coffee at a young age of 16. It all started with Starbucks Frapuccinos. Then I progressed to plain coffee with lots of sugar and milk to gradually get used its bitter taste. Eventually, I got so used to the acidity and bitterness of coffee, all I needed was a splash of milk, no sugar, and I was ready to go. I became addicted to the the morning ritual of caffeine ingestion while only still in high school. I even gave it up for Lent one year which resulted in me downing diet pepsi before school at 7 am. Gross!

Oh how the times have changed. I stay as far away from coffee as I can now. Not because I don’t love its aroma. Not because I don’t love the taste of a fresh-brewed cup of joe. But simply enough because coffee does not play nice with my stomach and therefore the cup of joe is just not worth it to me anymore. Sure every now and then I indulge in a latte or cup of coffee, but I usually pay for it later.

So now every morning I start off my day with a nice hot cup of tea. I still get the lovely caffeine buzz without the stomach pains. I was so pumped when Equal Exchange sent me Organic Rooibos tea to sample. Rooibos is an herbal tea, caffeine free, that comes from the Red Bush in South Africa, also known as Red Tea. Rooibos is naturally sweet which is probably why it is increasing in popularity and now being made into lattes.

The positive of me now being a tea drinker is that I am giving away two bags of Equal Exchange coffee (which I chose solely on the coolness of their names):

Organic Mind, Body, & Soul – a blend of medium & vienna roasts, smooth & creamy with chocolate notes

Organic Love Buzz –  a blend of full city & french roasts, dark & velvety smooth

I love Equal Exchange because they use fair, sustainable practices to create their products. They support small farmer co-ops that use sustainable farming practices which are beneficial for the environment.

Want to support small farmers? Want to win 2 bags of free Equal Exchange coffee? Here’s how to enter the free giveaway:

1. Receive one entry by commenting on this post why you would love to win free coffee or why you love Equal Exchange.

2. Receive another entry by tweeting: Free giveaway by @karalydonRD: Enter by 5/12 to win two bags of Equal Exchange coffee!  http://wp.me/pL33i-nm Don’t forget to come back here and leave another comment that you tweeted!

3. Receive TWO entries by posting a link to this giveaway (http://wp.me/pL33i-nm) on your blog and then leaving another comment here with a link to your blog post.

I will choose one winner (Continental US residents only) using random.org and announce the winner on Friday, May 13th.

Good luck!

Peace, love, and coffee,

Kara

Share

Responses

  1. I don’t think coffee does good things for anyones stomach but it’s still super delicious.

  2. I love what Equal Exchange stands for! It’s nice to know some companies are doing the right thing. 🙂 And, of course, I’d love to try it!

    lisagoneaussie (at) gmail (dot) com

  3. Kara, thanks for this awesome giveaway! The question is why would I NOT want to win free coffee? You had me at free exchange! I prefer my daily caffeine to be delivered through a delicious cup of coffee : )

  4. I must have a stomach of steel because I drink a ton of coffee every morning. I was recently talking to a friend about how she gave coffee up for a while but then went back because she loved it too much. It has become such a part of my morning ritual… and I’m definitely addicted to the caffeine. I could have worse addictions, right? Suffice it to say I’d love to win the coffee.

    And EE is a great company. They have donated product to the NOFA winter conference when I was food coordinator. They rock and their staff and facility (and chocolate, lest we not forget) are all amazing.

    Thanks for this great giveaway!

  5. MBS is what started me drinking coffee, and I enjoy it to this day. But as a volunteer on a small stipend, my coffee habit (and the fact that I only drink high quality coffee) makes a significant dent in my food budget. Free coffee would help!

  6. I work near the Equal Exchange cafe on Causeway Street and I like their coffee. I try to by fair trade coffee when I can.

  7. Kara, how do you always end up with all the cool stuff? 🙂 you know I always love to try the new things

  8. I would love to win this coffee to get me going in the mornings- from seeing clients, to running Harvard stadiums, to teaching a spin class, or having wedding meetings!

  9. I’ve not been to an Equal Exchange cafe but sampled some of their products through a friend. I try to by fair trade coffee when I can and this would be a great change of pace in our home! On a side note, just came across your site as a fellow Chobani featured blogger – I’m enjoying your posts and look forward to following you. Thanks for hosting the giveaway!


Leave a Reply

Categories

