Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | May 21, 2011

Edamame and Arame Salad

Last week I flipped through the pages of Super Natural Cooking by Heidi Swanson for some new recipes to try. I’ve blogged numerous recipes from Super Natural Cooking, you can find them here and here. I love this cookbook which is why I need to buy her newest cookbook Super Natural Everyday.

Her recipe for Hijiki and Edamame Salad jumped out as something I could easily pack for lunch during the work week. Hijiki is a type of seaweed that has a very strong taste that apparently takes some getting used to. Instead of hijiki, I used arame which is a milder seaweed that I was able to find at Whole Foods. Arame as well as other sea vegetables are loaded with minerals compared to land vegetables, partly because minerals will leach from the soil. Arame is a good source of calcium, iron, iodine, magnesium, and Vitamin A. Arame is typically purchased dry and then soaked in water for about 5 minutes prior to use.

For the recipe, I used arugula for the greens and opted out of using daikon, also known as a Japanese radish. The salad was topped off with a creamy miso dressing made from scratch. The edamame is really what won me over for this salad.

Why do I love edamame so much? Well first of all its loaded with protein and makes for a great vegetarian source of protein. A 1/2 cup of shelled edamame has about 9 grams of protein and only 120 calories! These green lean and mean immature soybeans are found in a pod. You can purchase them in a pod and are amazing boiled and sprinkled with salt as a snack. Or, you can find them pre-shelled and in the frozen section which is what I used for this recipe. In addition to being high in protein, edamame is a great source of fiber, folic acid, manganese, and vitamin K.

With the nutritional punch of arame and edamame, this salad is rocking out with health benefits. For lunch, I threw some field greens in a tuperware and added the Edamame salad on top. As much as I enjoyed this salad, my favorite way to eat Edamame is boiled in its pod and sprinkled with sea salt.

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

How do you like you Edamame? Have you used it in any unique recipes?

Responses

  1. yumm i love arame . i definitely need to get heidi’s cookbooks!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

