Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | May 28, 2011

Summertime Smoothies

We made it! It’s Memorial Day weekend and we finally have some sunny warm weather!

Are there specific foods that you only eat during certain seasons or weather?  For me, the answer is yes!  For example, I wouldn’t be caught dead eating oatmeal for breakfast in the summer. I also wouldn’t choose to have a cold refreshing smoothie in the winter time.

Lucky for me the warm weather is here and here to stay! That means it’s smoothie time. And my Mom bought me a belated apartment warming gift just in time for smoothie weather, a Kitchen Aid 5 speed blender! I’m so excited to try lots of different smoothie recipes this summer, even some “Green Monsters.” If you have any favorite smoothie recipes, send them my way!

The smoothie I can’t get enough of right now is my…

Strawberry Banana Protein smoothie (vegan)

1/2 banana (frozen or fresh)

7 frozen strawberries

2 tbsp almond butter

1 1/2 cups vanilla flavored coconut milk (Add or more less depending on desired consistency)

Blend all ingredients until smooth and creamy.

Enjoy for breakfast, as a snack, or an evening treat! I will be enjoying this smoothie and my new blender all summer long!

Have a great Memorial Day weekend!

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Do you have a favorite smoothie recipe? Or a Green Monster smoothie you would like to share?

Responses

  1. I love smoothies! I have several I love. My favorite is probably 1/4 cup unsweet vanilla almond milk, 1/2 cup cottage cheese (nonfat or low), TBSP or so oflow fat cream cheese, about 1 cup frozen peaches, vanilla stevia, and sometimes 1/4 scoop vanilla Jay Robb protein powder. This is so good. I also add dash of cinnamon to change flavor or use an almond or other extract. I also like frozen blueberries and strawberries with plain greek yogurt,stevia, little cream cheese, spinach and almond milk.
    I actually like them in Fall/Winter! But then I use same base as my peach one except I use canned pumpkin that I freeze in cubes and lots of pumpkin pie spice. With the cream cheese it’s like pumpkin cheesecake!
    Have a great weekend!

  2. Smoothies are so refreshing in the summer. I usually make mine with low-fat greek yogurt, fresh or frozen fruit and 100% juice. This looks like a great recipe though-thank you for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

