Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | June 7, 2011

Washington, D.C. Eats

I spent last weekend in the nation’s capital visiting my friend Lindsay visiting our friend Michelle. It was my first time really exploring the city and I loved certain things that made D.C unlike any other city I’ve been too:

1. There are no skyscrapers dominating the city’s skyline.

2. An open container policy makes for a fun and popular jazz in the sculpture garden.

3. The only thing Chinese about “Chinatown” are the Chinese characters you will find on the signs of American retail shops and restaurants. If you are looking for Spanish tapas or a Bar Louie in Chinatown, you are in luck.

4. The escalators in the Metro are so long you feel like you are entering a new world as you emerge from underground. DC metro has the third longest escalator in the world at 205 feet.

5. The memorials are breathtaking. Between the Smithsonian, the monuments, and the memorials, DC contains more history than imaginable.

Friday we started off the trip right with a trip to Georgetown Cupcakes. I’ve never watched DC Cupcakes but if you have, you know all about these small peices of heaven they call cupcakes. My Aunt sent us a couple dozen boxes shipped on dry ice a few years back and since then no cupcake has ever compared. We were lucky we went at an off-time. We didn’t wait long but believe it or not some will wait in a 3 hour line to buy cupcakes. This is no joke people.

Red velvet, my favorite flavor. The cream cheese frosting is out of this world.

The three of us split four cupcakes to try: Red Velvet, Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip, Chocolate & Vanilla, and Lava Fudge. The winners: Red Velvet and Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip. It was a close race for second. I would have voted for the Chocolate & Vanilla because the chocolate and vanilla is topped with…you guessed it, vanilla cream cheese frosting.

After indulging, we burned off some calories by kayaking along the Potomac River. I hadn’t kayaked since summer camp back when I was 12 years old so I wasn’t so sure how much I was going to enjoy it but it was a blast! We couldn’t have asked for nicer weather.

After sipping on sangria at jazz in the sculpture garden, we headed to Matchbox, a vintage pizza bistro known for crispy and smokey crust pizzas cooked in a wood fire oven.

We were starving when we first got to the restaurant so we started out with a crab and avocado salad with tarragon aioli, roasted corn, red bell peppers, and crostini. I enjoyed this salad actually more so than I did the pizza.

I ordered the Veggie pizza with cremini mushrooms, spanish onion, roasted poblano peppers, roasted garlic,
mozzarella, fresh herbs, and fingerling potato crisps. The pizza was mediocre and definitely could have done without the potato crisps. Bland potato crisps on pizza? Unnecessary.

For lunch on Saturday we stopped at Chop’t, a creative salad company. It reminded me of Tossed in Boston which I have yet to try but remembered from Janel’s post. Chopped was amazing. They strive to offer organic, farm-fresh, heirloom ingredients for their salads. Their meats are hormone, antibiotic, and cage-free. Dressings are hand crafted daily. They are eco-friendly, using silverware and containers made from recycled ingredients and they compost waste. A lunch right up my alley. They have locations in both D.C. and N.Y.C. I would love to see them open up a location in Boston!

They take the name Chop’t seriously. They use a mezzaluna knife to chop the lettuce and vegetables into small bite sizes. Just how I like it!

I had a delicious salad and even though the portion was large, I ate most of it because it was that good. I went for one of the seasonal vegetarian salads – The Melrose: Quinoa, avocado, broccoli, and peas. I substituted carrots for cucumbers. No matter how many times I try cukes, I just can’t do it. The salad was supposed to contain feta cheese but they must have forgot to add it. Thinking back, I did not miss it. The dressing was a basil mint pesto. The mint was subtle enough to make it refreshing but not overpowering.

Michelle, Lindsay, and I jam-packed a whole lot of fun into a couple days. I can’t remember the last time I walked that much in a matter of two days. My legs were feeling it at the end of the day! We did a ton of sight-seeing, had some good eats, and enjoyed a lot of laughs.

Michelle, me, and Lindsay (from left to right) in front of the Capitol Building

Thanks to Michelle for hosting a great weekend!

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

How did you spend your weekend? Do you have any favorite DC restaurants?

Responses

  1. What a fun trip!! now i want to go even more!

  2. Great pictures, Kara! It looks like you had an awesome time!

  3. If you like Moroccan food I recommend Marrakesh Palace (http://www.marrakeshpalace.com). Had a great meal there last time I was in DC. I also can’t get enough of the breakfast at Le Pain Quotidien. I wish they’d hurry and one up in Boston!


Leave a Reply

Categories

