Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | July 1, 2011

Boulder, CO, Anyone?

This past weekend I was in Boulder, CO for the Fitness and Health Bloggers Conference. You can see the recap of Part I of my vacation here.

Saturday we were lucky enough to spend some time at the Colorado Athletic Club. As conference goers, we had free access to the club for the weekend. Talk about a fancy gym! It is almost as nice as Equinox. Almost. Lindsey and I took a hot yoga class at the gym and it was her first intro to hot yoga! I think she’s hooked now. We also spent a little time at their outdoor pool! Where can I find a gym with an outdoor pool?!

Refuel With Chocolate Milk hosted our dinner Saturday night (and sponsored my giveaway!) where Ruth Carey, Registered Dietitian, spoke to us about the benefits of drinking chocolate milk for post-workout recovery.

On Sunday morning, Corinne, Jess, and Lindsey, presented on demystifying nutrition myths. As we all know there are a lot of mixed messages out there on nutrition and our health and these lovely ladies did a great job setting the record straight.

I was sad to see these ladies go on Sunday after the conference. But I was super excited to have some time to explore Downtown Boulder.

Downtown Boulder is exactly what I pictured. An outdoor shopping mall filled with shops that scream fitness and outdoors. No Gucci or Louis Vitton in this mall! I loved the relaxed vibe. I was in heaven in the Gaiam store. And I had to make a Crocs flip flop purchase. Walking for 7-8 hours in uncomfortable sandals will compel you to do so!

I knew I loved Boulder when this was the first sign I saw walking into the Downtown area.

Lunch was eaten at The Kitchen [Next Door]. A farm-to-table joint.

I ordered a salmon salad sandwich with a side of arugula dressed with lemon, olive oil, salt & pepper. Lunch was enjoyed outside with a beautiful view of the mountains.

It was such a hot day that I couldn’t pass up a frosty afternoon treat. Tart Greek style fro-yo topped with strawberries and mango!

Coffee break? Nah, how about an iced peach mate tea break? Sounds fabulous. Don’t mind if I do. Despite it’s homely green appearance, the iced tea from The Yellow Deli was actually delicious!

Dinner was at Salt, whose philosophy is that “the best food travels the shortest distance from farm to table, and that menus should change with the seasons and that locally sourced ingredients, combined with European technique and innovative thinking make for a truly remarkable experience.” Yes, I choose restaurants based on their philosophies.

What would a restaurant named Salt be without two different types of sea salt to sprinkle on your fresh bakery bread with butter?

To start I had a Roasted Beet Salad: agave champagne marinated chioggia beets, shaved golden beets, hazelnut, gorgonzola, radish sprout, pomegranate vinaigrette. This was mouth-watering. Seriously I love beets because not only do they taste good, they are oh so good for you. High in folate, manganese, and potassium.

My “small plate” was the Wild Alaskan Halibut Cheeks: crispy chickpea fritter, local mustard greens, local cress coulis, lobster butter sauce. The halibut cheek is tougher and more dense than the halibut fillet but more powerful in flavor. The chickpea fritter was made with quinoa, and upon dissection and examination, I realized they used both red and black quinoa in the fritter. Believe it or not, this was the first time I tried mustard greens. I loved them! I felt like I was eating Dijon mustard spread on a leafy green. They seriously taste like mustard – they weren’t joking around when they named those bad boys.

In case you were wondering, I savored my dinner outside and had another beautiful view of the mountains. I think any meal I eat would be enjoyed if this was the backdrop.

Walking back to the hotel from Downtown that night I couldn’t have been happier. Maybe it was the dry hot weather. Maybe it was the belly full of fresh, local food. Maybe it was the friendly Coloradans I encountered throughout the day. Maybe it was the mountains. All I know is this will not be the last trip I make to Boulder, CO.

Peace, love, and CO food,

Kara

Have you visited Colorado before? Where did you go & what did you see?

Responses

  1. love the rockies. it looks like you guys had so much fun!!!!!!1 can’t wait to be home tonight!!

  2. loooks like you had an amaazing time in boulder surrounded by great food, great scenery and great people! i’ve never been to CO, but after reading your posts, i’m starting to think i need to visit soon 🙂

  3. I’m so jealous – I looooove Colorado! All the food you got looks heavenly. Glad you had fun!

  4. kara! This recap is wonderful! I am kind of bummed I didn’t stay for some extra time and do these things w/ you in downtown!! I’ll venture back with you any time you want. I looked at the menu for The Kitchen a while back and was dying to try it but obv didn’t have enough time there. THanks for sharing this great experience!


Leave a Reply

Categories

