Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | July 6, 2011

July 4th Weekend

Most people travel July 4th weekend. Others might do something out of the ordinary for the long weekend. I wanted just the opposite. With all the traveling I’ve been doing lately, I was looking forward to a weekend alone to relax and rejuvenate.

It was an Eat Well With Janel kind of weekend. Some of her recent meals looked too good I knew I would have to replicate. I made a hummus pizza Friday night on whole wheat dough and sprinkled some feta cheese on top. Sunday night I made sweet and sour tempeh with pineapple and peppers. I have tried tempeh a couple times before and I haven’t cared for it much. The texture takes a little while to get used to. Janel recommends steaming tempeh beforehand to lessen its bitterness. I steamed it before cooking it in the oven. It seemed to help since this was the best tasting tempeh dish I have tried yet!

Friday night after savoring my hummus pizza, I made it over to Free Friday at the Museum of Fine Arts. Did you know that all summer long in the greater Boston area museums rotate free admission on Fridays? Check out the schedule here.

I met Orianna at the MFA to check out the Chihuly exhibit Through the Looking Glass. Take a look at this blown glass art.

The Chihuly exhibit is running through the beginning of August. If you have yet to see it, what are you waiting for? Seriously though, I would highly recommend it. I think blown glass art is mind-blowing.

On Monday I needed some way to showcase my patriotism…Okay I’ll admit I’m not the most patriotic gal around but I do love an excuse to eat tart frozen yogurt :). And I will go to any lengths to find an excuse. Hence, me claiming the need to display patriotism through red, white, and blue food.

Tart frozen yogurt with strawberries and blueberries from Pinkberry, anyone? If you haven’t gone to their website before, please do. Join me in laughing at their song! “Sorry ice cream, I’m dreaming of a different dessert…Sorry ice cream, I’m on my way to Pinkberry.” (I may or may not have listened to it multiple times while writing this post).

I also checked out Tasty Burger which has been getting a lot of hype in the Fenway area lately. It was a suitable meal for 4th of July and satisfied my longing to be by a pool eating cookout food. Well, it satisfied the cookout part anyway. I was recently very impressed by the veggie burger at 5 Napkin Burger, but the veggie burger at Tasty Burger was out of this world too! It was a huge patty and seemed to be made of beans, grains, and some vegetables. It was hard to pinpoint all the ingredients but it definitely was homemade. If you’re in the mood for burgers and are down at Fenway watching a game, I would recommend trying it out. I loved the atmosphere too – it was like 50’s diner meets Red Sox Nation. They sell beer + wine as well if you are looking for a cold one before or after the game.

Finally, the culmination of the weekend was watching the Boston fireworks spectacular downtown.

How did you celebrate your holiday weekend? Did you travel? Or like myself did you relax and rejuvenate at home?

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Share

Responses

  1. that’s so funny. Janel came over this weekend and guess what I made her and her husband? Tempeh! lol I steamed it then tossed it on the grill w/ some olive oil and seasoning and it was SO GOOD. I love the fireworks photo!

  2. I don’t know how I’m just seeing this now but I love how you had an Eat Well with Janel eating phase!!! Glad the tempeh was better this time around 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

