Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | July 21, 2011

Recpie ReDux: Blueberry Basil Lemonade Fizz

I am excited to share my first Recipe ReDux post with you all. Recipe ReDux is the first and only recipe challenge group founded by registered dietitians. Each month I will be creating a recipe based on the month’s theme. I was so excited to start off the first Recipe ReDux by making a summer beverage.

It all started with fresh picked blueberries from Tangerini’s Spring Street Farm.

That gave me the inspiration to make this summer beverage:

Blueberry Basil Lemonade Fizz

Makes 1 pitcher

You will need:

8 lemons

2 cups blueberries

3/4 cup sugar

1 small bunch basil (approx 24 large basil leaves)

2 L sparkling water

Optional 2 lemons for garnish

Squeeze 8 lemons for lemon juice. Using an immersion blender, blend blueberries, lemon juice, sugar, and basil until blended well. Add juice to pitcher and fill with 2L sparkling water. Optional: Use 1 lemon to add lemon slices to pitcher. Use the remaining lemon for garnish on glasses.

For a refreshing summer cocktail, add 1.5 oz vodka per drink.


While drinking, it is appropriate to let out a satisfying ahhhh.

This drink is perfectly refreshing for the summer. The blueberries and basil pair well together and are in season this time of year. Making this beverage was my first time using an immersion blender and it was definitely worth the investment. It blended everything very well.

The blueberry basil lemonade fizz quenched my thirst and desire to taste those fresh local blueberries after a long day of berry picking.

This summer drink would be a big hit at your next summer BBQ or party!

Be sure to check out some of the other delicious Recipe ReDux summer beverage recipes:

Cheers!

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

What is your favorite summer beverage?


Responses

  1. Kara, glad to see another fizzy basil drink fan😉 The color on this is fantastic; will definitely try your recipe.

  2. This looks amazing!! i love basil lemonade and the addition of blueberries makes it perfect!

  3. Looks fabulous! I will have to try that as a different spin on my blueberry basil cooler. Great minds think alike😉

  4. Ahh, got to love basil in a summer drink! So glad to have on board with Recipe ReDux!

  5. What a beautiful color. I’ve got all the ingredients needed to try this. I’m growing basil (more than I can ever eat) in my vegetable garden and recently bought 6 pints of blueberries on sale for $6.99. This sounds like a real winner.

  6. I love everything about this drink! Thanks for the recipe, I will be experimenting this weekend with my Vitamix!

  7. Look great! I am always looking for new ways to use my overflowing basil plant- thanks!

  8. Lovely color! Your comment reminded me of my cousin, when he was little he would say a loud “AAHHH” every time he took a sip of his cup:)

  9. Wow…looks great! Can’t wait to try this!

  10. Beautiful drink and all the flavors sound delicious too! Love that you picked your own blueberries!

  11. This looks delicious! I Love the addition of basil. I have been seeing it popping up a lot in drinks lately. So refreshing!

  12. What a great combo of blueberries, lemon and basil!! Something I’ve gotta try:)

  13. Love, love basil and blueberries. But pun nets are $8 each at the moment as it’s winter in Australia and my basil bush is looking a little sad and woody. Can’t wait for Summer to try.

  14. This looks awesome! I’ll confess to never really having tried many herbs, other than mint, in beverages. But I have basil overload in my garden, so this sounds like the perfect option. So glad to have you participating in The ReDux!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

