Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | August 2, 2011

A Berry Berry Summer

Remember my berry picking trip to Tangerini’s Spring Street Farm? Did you catch my Blueberry Basil Lemonade Fizz I made with the blueberries I picked?

Ever wonder what happened to those raspberries?

Besides popping them in my mouth every two seconds, I decided to give making jam a first attempt.

To make jam, use 1:1 ratio of raspberries to sugar (2 cups raspberries, use 2 cups sugar). Mash raspberries in sauce pan and and add sugar. Cook to a boil, stirring frequently, let cook for about 5 minutes until a gel is formed.

Unfortunately, I had to learn the correct jam recipe the hard way. I followed a recipe online that said to let the mixture boil for 15 minutes or so. If you are looking for inedible, rock solid raspberry candy, then I encourage you to over cook the mixture. If you want to learn from my mistake, cook for only about 5 minutes.

Practice makes perfect right? I WILL try to make jam another day.

Speaking of practice makes perfect, one summer berry treat that I’ve learned to perfect over the years with practice is a mean strawberry shortcake.

I found these local strawberries at Russo’s which might I add is the most amazing grocery store EVER. If you are looking for great quality produce or exotic produce, Russo’s is the place to go.

I smashed 2 pints of strawberries up and added 1/4 cup sugar. This allows for some juice to seep out.

I never was a fan of strawberry shortcake on sponge cake or angel food cake. Growing up, my Mom always made biscuits using Bisquick. So I whipped up some multigrain biscuits using TJ’s multigrain pancake mix.

What’s shortcake without whipped cream to top it off?

Strawberry perfection.

As you can see, I can’t get enough of berries this summer. Can you blame me? They are a sure sweet way to get in loads of antioxidants.

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Share

Responses

  1. Yay! I love it when RDs use REAL whipped cream. Fresh berries deserve special treatment! Looks delish.


Leave a Reply

Categories

