Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | September 5, 2011

Practice Makes the Perfect Poached Egg

With the imminent Hurricaine Irene en route last Sunday morning, I knew I was going to be couped up in my apartment. One of the good things about being couped up is it forces you to do things inside…such as cooking!

In case you didn’t already know this about me, breakfast is my favorite meal. Don’t get me wrong, I love a mean sandwich for lunch but I’ll take eggs, pancakes, yogurt & fruit, any time, any day. My favorite breakfast meal is Eggs Benedict. Have they done studies on whether or not an affinity for Eggs bene is genetic? If not, they should study my family to prove a love for this popular brunch meal is hereditary. The reason I say this is if you ever go out to brunch with my family, my Mom, Dad, sister, and I will all have Eggs Benedict on our plates (granted mine is sans canadian bacon, plus spinach).

Needless to say, I love Eggs Benedict. I’ve wanted to try making this for a while now but I had yet to even learn how to make a poached egg! I thought I would take this one step at a time. Conquer poached eggs today, homemade hollandaise sauce another day.

After reading a few blog posts on poaching eggs, I learned a few poaching tips:

1. Don’t boil the water. Let the water heat to the point that it is simmering, or just about to boil.

2. Add a splash of vinegar to the water before adding the egg.

3. Crack the egg in a small bowl before gently adding it to the water.

4. Using a spoon or spatula, create a whirlpool in the water before setting the egg in the middle of the whirlpool. This helps the egg whites to form around the yolk.

5. Once placed in the almost boiling water, let eggs cook for approximately 3-4 minutes, even if you think they aren’t done after this period of time. Trust me, they are done. Place them on a paper towel to let some excess water be absorbed.

With any cooking endeavor, practice makes perfect. Poaching eggs is no different. I give you evidence by sharing with you my first attempt…

A little runny…And pretty tiny. The rest of the whites were floating around in strands in the pot. 🙂

20110905-053522.jpg

Second attempt was not the best either…

20110905-053533.jpg

You know what they say, third time’s a charm!

20110905-053542.jpg

My perfectly poached eggs went on top of a whole wheat english muffin.

20110905-053551.jpg

I cheated with the Hollandaise and used a powdered mix and added butter and water in a small sauce pan over heat. In retrospect, I wish I would have saved some spinach leaves from dinner the night before to put on my Eggs Benedict (or should I say, Florentine).

20110905-053620.jpg

Best breakfast ever!

To be honest, my poached eggs were close to perfect but I still need some practice. The yolks were cooked a tad too much and weren’t as runny as they should be with Eggs Benedict. Gives me an excuse to keep making my favorite weekend breakfast!

I hope everyone enjoyed their long Labor Day weekend! I spent the weekend with family and friends in Buffalo, NY. I even snagged in a couple beach days!

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Do you have any egg poaching tips? What were you cooking when Irene swept through?

Responses

  1. Ive never made poached eggs but looks like you did a great job.
    I think I should give it a try!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

