Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | September 23, 2011

Charleston, SC

Last weekend, I was speaking at the Bariatric Summit in Charleston, SC. It was my first time speaking at a large medical conference and I rocked it! I left with an itch to continue doing public speaking engagements.

It was such a fun experience and a treat to explore a new city. Charleston is such an old city. Next to Rome, it is the second most preserved city in the world! On our first day we took a carriage ride tour around the city. I was able to snag some great pics during this tour.

Rainbow Row

Houses in Charleston need to be approved by the Architecture Review Board to make sure all homes have a similar design. The typical home is narrow to the street but is very long. And don’t get me started on the porches…LOVE them!

The tour was fantastic. I learned a lot about Charleston’s history. As we passed each home, we learned who built it and what they did for a living.

This is the outdoor market with tons of food, clothing, and craft vendors.

The food down South is much different than what we see up North. For example, every dish under the sun includes some type of pork product. I exaggerate, the majority of dishes. I had some difficulty finding “pescetarian friendly” dishes. Even the collard greens had meat in them! The other common trend down South is the fried food. One night before dinner, we found ourselves in a bar watching the Patriots game and ended up ordering fried mac n cheese bites and sweet potato tater tots with cinnamon butter. In my defense, I was with two other dietitians also indulging in the fried appetizers. Hey, everything in moderation!

Our favorite lunch spot was Leaf, a cute cafe that specializes in creating dishes using local ingredients. They have an amazing outdoor patio as well as a bright dining room with the windows open to outside. The first lunch I had was a beet and arugula salad with Gorgonzola. The last day, I ordered a crab cake sandwich with guacamole and leaf slaw. They just happened to come with Parmesan truffle fries on the side :).

I had such a fun weekend with my co workers in Charleston, SC. I definitely would like to take a trip back during the summer.

Peace, love, and Food,

Kara

Share

Responses

  1. I was just in Charleston last week! Absolutely beautiful city. If you hadn’t this trip, next visit check out Folly beach. You can see dolphins right off the beach! Also, there was a great little restaurant called HOM that had delicious turkey burgers served with kalamata olive and cucumber quinoa salad. Thanks for the pictures!

  2. i live here!!! where did you get the tater tots?? I NEED

    • I wish I could remember the name of the bar! It was on a main street downtown.


Leave a Reply

Categories

