Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | October 15, 2011

A Fall Weekend in Buffalo & Exciting News

Last weekend I was back in Buffalo visiting with family. My little sis was going to be home from college visiting and I didn’t want to miss her!

On Saturday, my family hosted “Ottofest” which is an Oktoberfest themed party out at our cabin in Otto, NY. We had some delicious eats including homemade mac n cheese, potato salad, Greek salad, and a fruit salad made with local nectarines and plums, basil, and balsamic vinaigrette. Mmmm.

20111015-103132.jpg

We also hit up the Mayer Bros Cider Mill and got some apple cider, and of course, apple cider doughnuts!

20111015-103204.jpg
20111015-103218.jpg

20111015-103254.jpg

20111015-103309.jpg

We had a short but sweet birthday dinner at Trattoria Aroma before my sister got back on the bus to Pittsburgh. Trattoria specializes in Italian food and is active in the local food movement. I had the most delicious entree – pan seared wild salmon with a butternut squash and arugula risotto. It inspired me to start some serious fall cooking!

20111015-105417.jpg

Another highlight of my long weekend home was traveling outside of Buffalo to Letchworth State Park, also known as the “Grand Canyon of the East.” It was so beautiful out there this time of year with the leaves changing colors. I definitely will need to make a trip back there, hopefully next time I will bring my hiking gear!

20111015-103328.jpg

20111015-103407.jpg

20111015-103440.jpg

I also have some exciting news to share with all of you. I am making a big move in my life right now and switching career gears. I am leaving clinical work at Tufts to start as the Health Communications Manager for Chobani, the Greek yogurt co! I am super excited for this next step in my career and as you can see from the sign below, my family is pretty excited for me as well! They paraded around “Ottofest” with this poster chanting “TWICE THE PROTEIN, NO FAT, CHOBANI!” It was was pretty amusing. Love my fam.

20111015-105438.jpg

Overall, it was a great weekend at home with beautiful weather and definitely marked the beginning of Fall for me.

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Responses

  1. Congrats Kara- Chobani is lucky to have you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

