Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | November 3, 2011

Butternut Squash and Apple Soup

My mother just called me out on the phone today for eating pumpkin 24-7. What can I say Mom?! I can’t get enough of pumpkin in the Fall and I really appreciate eating seasonally. Speaking of eating seasonally, and to get off the pumpkin train for a day, I made a delicious fall soup that I would trade pumpkin in for any (well, most) days.I found the recipe for Butternut Squash and Apple Soup on the Food Network and it comes from the amazing Ina Garten. You can find the recipe here.

This soup is loaded with seasonal fruit and vegetables. That means it’s packed with fiber and other vitamins and minerals such as vitamin A, C, potassium, and magnesium. 

Even though this recipe takes a little time to make, it is well worth the wait. It makes 3 1/2 qts of soup so you will have soup for days and days. This soup freezes very well so you can enjoy it till the very last drop!

This recipe calls for curry powder (hence the colored chopped onions below) so it’s got a nice little kick to it.

I served this soup with whole grain bakery bread and brie cheese. On the next chilly Sunday, spend some time and make this soup! You’ll be warm & toasty and lovin Fall!

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Responses

  1. I’m with you, I love pumpkin and when it’s in season and it’s good, I can eat it every day! That being said, this soup recipe looks and sounds delish!! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. Sounds yummy. Maybe Mom is just fishing for you to share some of your pumpkin creations with her 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

