Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | November 28, 2011

Healthy Habits Kitchen

Last week I had the pleasure of visiting Healthy Habits Kitchen (HHK) located in Wellesley, MA. I met with Sue, the owner, who talked to me about the inspiration behind HHK and its operations. A meal preparation and delivery service, HHK is all about making healthy food convenient. Sue and I discussed how one of the biggest barriers for people to eat healthy is time and lack of planning ahead. HHK is about filling that gap by packaging nutritious food that is already prepared and ready to cook. The dietitian on staff ensures that all meals contain no more than 400 calories per serving, less than 30% fat and a maximum of 800mg of sodium. 

When in season, Sue buys her produce from the Farmers Markets while she is there selling her meals. She uses antibiotic and growth-hormone free chicken, wild-caught seafood and limits use of preservatives, artificial flavors, colors and dyes. Needless to say, HHK cares about serving good quality food. 

The menu at HHK changes monthly to reflect the season. The November menu featured Pumpkin Turkey Chili and Sweet and Crunchy Mustard Chicken. They even offered a Thanksgiving menu featuring appetizers, sides and desserts. Their menu features a variety of poultry, fish, meat, and vegetarian main dishes as well as sides and cookie dough for dessert. Reasonably priced for its convenience, meal kits sell for an average of $5 per serving. Think of how much you might spend on take-out!  Full order kits serve 4 -6 people and half order kits serve 2 -3 people. 

Sue was kind of enough to send me home with a meal kit to try which was perfect since I was getting home late with no dinner plans. I tried the Broiled Tilapia With Thai Coconut Curry Sauce. Ingredients included: ginger, garlic, red peppers, curry, cumin, soy sauce, brown sugar and coconut milk. This meal came with jasmine rice. I took home a half order and got 3 servings out of it.

This meal took me about 30 minutes total to make and took about 30 seconds for clean-up (which is my least favorite part of cooking!). The meal was was very flavorful and tasted really fresh. I also enjoyed that I could still find pleasure in cooking my dinner but without all the prep work. I would highly recommend HHK to anyone in the Boston/MetroWest area who is looking to eat healthier but struggling to find the time to do so. 

Peace, love, and food,

Kara 

Share

Responses

  1. Just stumbled upon your blog via Nutrition Blog Network, and I’m liking what I’ve seen so far! HHK has such a cool concept… I wish there are more restaurants like HHK that help busy folks eat better!

    • Thank you! I’m glad the Nutrition Blog Network connected us. Your blog is fantastic!

      • i wish there was a place like this in buffalo!

  2. Seems like a lot of these “convenient health food” business are popping up lately! There were several near me when I lived in Houston and they were pretty good. I’ll have to recommend this one to my parents as an alternative to prepping lunches during the work week as they don’t live far from Wellesley!


Leave a Reply

Categories

