Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | January 9, 2012

Lemon parsley mafaldine with plum tomatoes and feta

For Christmas this year, I was grateful to receive a handful of lovely foodie gifts. A new spice rack, hand-painted measuring cups & spoons and a sugar bowl from Anthropologie. Even my Secret Santa present from Steve’s family was a gift fit for a foodie (they know me so well :)). Two bags of fresh pasta and a beautiful hand-painted pasta bowl.

Last week I put my Secret Santa gift to good use and cooked a bag of lemon parsley mafaldine that was from Flour City Pasta in Rochester, NY. Mafaldine is a ribbon-shaped flat, wide pasta. This particular mafaldine was green in color from the parsley and I have to say the green color turned Steve off a bit to the pasta. He quickly got over that after his first bite.

To accompany the pasta, I made the sauce recommended by Flour City – plum tomatoes, feta, olive oil, lemon juice, pasta water, salt and pepper. Not only was the pasta lemon flavored, but the sauce had a whole lotta lemon love to it as well. The lemon didn’t overpower the dish but definitely made a statement. I thought this would be a perfect spring or summer pasta dish because it was so light and refreshing. You can find the recipe for the pasta sauce here.

I sautéed some baby spinach with olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper for a mean green side dish.

Special thanks to my Secret Santa for making this dinner possible.

My next bag of pasta is a Red pepper basil…what sauce would you recommend to go with?

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Share

Leave a Reply

Categories

