Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | January 12, 2012

Edamame Hummus Pizza

I’m all about homemade pizzas. It’s actually a staple at our place now. TJs is kind enough to provide the easy to bake (and cheap!) pizza dough – whole wheat for me and italian herb for Steve. Steve’s become quite the pro at creating veggie pizzas – marinating vegetables beforehand and what not. I’m not trying to honk our own horns here, but if you wanted you could call us a gourmet pizza shop. A pizza shop that also makes the not-so-ordinary hummus pizza.

No, hummus pizza is not Steve’s specialty. I actually tried hummus pizza for the first time last summer after reading a post by Eat Well With Janel. It’s super easy and tastes so yummy, especially if you’re a big hummus fan like myself. My latest hummus pizza creation was the result of me rummaging through my almost bare fridge saying to myself, what could I possibly throw together right now?

Enter, Edamame Hummus Pizza. I was skeptical about using edamame hummus because previously I’ve used garlic hummus which is a safe bet. Edamame hummus though? I took the risk considering how much I adore edamame hummus. It’s ALWAYS in my fridge. I kid you not. I even made it for a Recipe Redux a few months back.

Edamame Hummus Pizza

Ingredients:

whole-wheat pizza dough

2 portabello mushrooms, sliced

1/2 container edamame hummus

1/4 cup parmesean cheese

freshly ground pepper

dried oregeno

Preheat oven to 350. Roll out pizza dough and spread hummus onto dough. Top with portobello mushrooms, cheese, and sprinkle pepper and oregano to taste. Bake for about 10 minutes or until crust is crispy. 

Not too shabby for a last-minute thrown together meal, eh? In order to enjoy this meal, you must come to terms with the fact that you’re eating a green pizza. Just sayin.

Looking for some other ways to healthify your pizza? Look no further! 

Bon appétit!

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Responses

  1. Kara! I WILL be trying this…yum!

  2. We thought we invented the hummus pizza!! It was our favorite late night snack when Alex lived in Brookline! Hummus + mushrooms + goat cheese was a favorite.


Leave a Reply

Categories

