Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | February 5, 2012

Super Natural Every Day Baked Oatmeal

Kindles. iPads. Nooks. 

I can’t seem to conform to the e-reader technology that’s sweeping the nation. I totally get the allure of it. It’s convenient, sleek and at your fingertips. 

You can call me old-fashioned but I love the sensation of physically turning the page of a paperback. I love the frayed edges of a book that’s been overused. I love the indentations of the corners of pages that were folded as a placeholder. 

With my cookbooks, it gets even better. You can tell which recipes I’ve tried and which I’ve tried over, and over, and over again. The usage is evidenced by how many grease spots lie on the pages. Hey, I never said I was a neat cook! 

The same high I get from curling up with a paperback (currently The Help), I get from paging through a cookbook to see what will be my next culinary adventure. 

One cookbook I’ve been paging through recently is Super Natural Every Day by Heidi Swanson, author of one of my favorite blogs, 101 Cookbooks. Her blogs and books reflect a cooking style which uses ONLY whole foods and ingredients in their purest forms. You may remember Heidi’s name from a post a while back about her first cookbook, Super Natural Cooking. 

The first page I got stuck on (and got a little dirty) was the recipe for Baked Oatmeal. I love oatmeal in the morning, especially during the winter months but my oatmeal is usually cooked on the stove-top, not in the oven. Baked oatmeal is heavenly, especially this recipe which calls for oats, huckleberries (I used blueberries), banana, walnuts, and maple syrup for sweetener. I served this with a dollop of Chobani on top! Greek yogurt on top of oatmeal is pretty amazing if you’ve never tried it!

One of the greatest things about baked oatmeal is you can prep the night before and just bake in the AM! Or, you can do what I did and while the oatmeal is baking in the oven for 40 minutes, you get yourself ready for the day!

I am a huge advocate of not skimping on breakfast. No, I don’t have the time every morning to make baked oatmeal, but I DO make the time to fuel my body each and every morning! Even if that means grabbing a handful of nuts and a piece of fruit. Starting your day off right with breakfast will be sure to help your body run efficiently throughout the day!

Peace, love and food,

Kara

What’s your favorite baked oatmeal variation? What cookbook are you paging through right now?

Leave a Reply

Categories

