Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | February 11, 2012

A Trip to Wegmans

Top 2 things I miss about Buffalo, NY. #1 Family & friends. #2 Wegmans.
I hold Wegmans in very high esteem. To prove my love for this mother of all grocery stores, I often tell the tale of how when a friend from college came to visit me in Buffalo, the first place I took him was….you got it, Wegmans.
Not familiar with Wegmans? Imagine a grocery store larger than you could dream, with great quality, fresh produce, prepared foods every which way you turn, and a warehouse of craft brews. This dream, folks, is also known as Wegmans.

Given my description, you can imagine my excitement and anticipation when Wegmans announced they’d be opening up a store in Northborough, MA. The store opened up back in October and I’ve been waiting for an opportunity to make the trek. When MDA announced a RD networking event at Wegmans, I was all over it.

Going to Wegmans strangely enough gave me a slight sensation of the comfort of being back home in Buffalo. Being that this was a special occasion, I had to snag some unique Wegmans staples: baked goods, sushi, submarines, and definitely scoped out the Mediterranean Bar (obsessed).

I’ll admit it wasn’t my healthiest shop ever (and not my cheapest!) but it was worth it. Now that I think about it, I was kind of like a kid in a candy store…Especially when I saw they carried all the new flavors of Chobani, including the new Chobani Champions flavors!

Speaking of kids in candy stores, I think my jaw hung open as I walked into their beer, wine and liquor warehouse. It was ridiculously large. They had a great selection of local craft brews which I appreciated.

Before I cashed out, I made sure to get a Shoppers Club card (saved $7 on my purchase!) so I could ultimately get a free Wegman’s Menu Magazine! This publication is pretty awesome if you ask me. Not only did the entire winter issue emphasize fruits, vegetables and whole grains, it contains a ton of easy, delicious and healthy recipes. They even had a farro recipe in there! Double points for farro shout-out! You can find some of the recipes featured in this magazine on their website.

If you’re in the Northborough area or are willing to take a little trip from the Boston area to visit an amazing grocery store, I’d highly recommend it. If you make the trip, feel free to being me along. 🙂

Peace, love, and food.

Kara

What’s your favorite grocery store? Have you ever been to a Wegmans?

Responses

  1. Wegmans!


Leave a Reply

Categories

