Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | February 21, 2012

Recipe Redux: Chocolate Cherry Frosty

The theme of this month’s Recipe Redux is “Chocolate Love Is In The Air.” In honor of Valentine’s Day, yummy, indulgent chocolate recipes are in high demand this month. The challenge this month was to complement chocolate with some other good-for-you foods to make a delicious and healthy treat. “We’re creating recipes that will make the heart grow fonder – and stronger.” 

When I read this month’s theme, I started to think of some of my favorite chocolate and fruit combos – chocolate covered strawberries, chocolate covered bananas, chocolate covered cherries. Cherries. I just so happened to recently buy a bag of frozen dark sweet cherries that I was going to use for smoothie making. Smoothies. Chocolate. Cherries. Now the wheels were turning…

Enter, the Chocolate Cherry Frosty. First step was making my own homemade chocolate sauce. I followed this recipe but used 1.5 cups sugar instead of 2 cups. 

Chocolate Cherry Frosty

1.5c frozen dark sweet cherries

1c coconut milk

1/4c plain Greek yogurt (I used Chobani)

1 tbsp chocolate syrup

1/2 banana

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

Optional: Eat with a spoon to get the full frosty effect.

Peace, love, and food,

Kara

Looking to further satisfy that sweet tooth? Check out all the other healthy chocolate recipes featured this month by fellow Reduxers!

get the InLinkz code

Responses

  1. YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. YES!!!! I recently bought frozen sweet cherries for a pie so I’ll be getting more to make this frosty for sure!

  3. Kara,
    This looks soo good! 🙂
    Happy Tuesday!

  4. Oh my. I think cherries have to be my favorite fruit…and the chocolate cherry combo, yum. This totally reminds me of the Chocolate Covered Cherry Blizzard from Dairy Queen I used to eat in high school! Thanks for the blast from the past!

  5. this looks yum-e!!

    btw: did u use refrigerated coconut milk or canned?

  6. I love this recipe. I’m curious too about the coconut milk. Did you use canned or refrigerated? Light or regular? Do tell 🙂

    • Thanks! Liz & Regan – I used refrigerated coconut milk from TJ’s 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

