Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | February 16, 2014

National Almond Day Raw Brownie Recipe & Giveaway! {Sponsored Post}

Disclosure: This giveaway is sponsored by California Almonds. I was compensated for my time by receiving free samples of the products mentioned.  All opinions stated are my own.

Happy triple holiday weekend! That’s right, we’ve got the day for lovers, the day for prezzies, and the less familiar, day for almonds – the ultimate tree nut! That’s right folks, today is National Almond Day – a day to reflect upon all that these little tree nuts give to us. But really, it’s a day to celebrate the versatility of almonds by getting creative in the kitchen!

Call me nutty but I can’t get enough of nuts lately. They’re a good source of heart-healthy fat and a great source of plant-based protein, not to mention chock full of vitamins and minerals. This is why I was psyched when California Almonds sent me the ultimate almond package to celebrate National Almond Day – almond flour, raw whole almonds, slivered almonds and almond butter.

IMG_2864Emerging research is being published on the health benefits of almonds, which is no surprise considering they contain 6g of protein and 4g of fiber per ounce. Research is pointing to the consumption of nuts having a positive effect on chronic disease such as cancer and heart disease.

Between almond flour, almond butter and the nuts themselves, there are so many ways to incorporate almonds into your cooking. Use almond flour in your baking, crushed almonds as a topping for chicken or fish, almond butter to add to your favorite smoothie recipe.

To celebrate National Almond Day AND Valentine’s Day, I made a delicious recipe for raw vegan brownies featuring almonds and almond butter!

IMG_1573

Raw Orange Chocolate Salted Brownies 

Ingredients

1 cup raw almonds

1 cup pitted dates

1/2c cocoa powder

1 tsp maca powder

1 tsp orange zest

1 tbsp almond butter

1 tsp salt

coarse sea salt for garnish

Instructions

In a food processor, add almonds and pulse for a few seconds until almonds turn turn into a course flour. While the food processor is running, add the remaining ingredients. The mixture should be crumb-like but but held together when pressed. Pour the mixture into a 8×8 pan and press down firmly with your hands. Cut into small squares or alternatively, roll into small balls for brownie bites. Garnish with course sea salt.

Variation

For chipoltle chocolate brownies, substitute 1 tsp orange zest for 1/2 tsp chipoltle powder and skip sea salt garnish.

IMG_1561

IMG_1556

GIVEAWAY!

To enter to receive your very own California Almond lifehack pack complete with almond flour, almond butter, whole almonds and slivered almonds, simply leave a comment here with your favorite way to use almonds in the kitchen. For an extra entry, share this giveaway via twitter “I just entered @karalydonRD giveaway for a free @almond #lifehack pack. Enter for a chance to win by visiting peaceloveandfood.com #spon”. This giveaway will run from Sunday, February 16 through Thursday, February 20. The winner will be announced on the blog on Friday, February 21st.

Responses

  1. Yum! Those look fantastic! My favorite way to use almonds are mixed into my breakfast smoothie. Thank you for the wonderful giveaway.
    Erin
    fairyfractal at gmail dot com

  2. Tweet, Tweet:
    https://twitter.com/Fairyfractal/status/435055911330017280

  3. I like to add sliced almonds to salads and brownies.

  4. I made some yummy energy bars that didn’t need to be baked – I used almond flour, almond butter, almond extract, and ground almonds, added a little honey and sea salt. I made them into squares. Sooo much almond goodness!!!

  5. I add sliced almonds to my granola and yogurt!

  6. I love using almond flour to make paleo chocolate chip cookies!

    Thanks for the chance to win!
    wildorchid985 at gmail dot com

  7. tweet–https://twitter.com/WildOrchid985/status/435131886482882560

    wildorchid985 at gmail dot com

  8. I like to use almond flour to make paleo chocolate chip cookies!

    Thanks for the chance to win!
    wildorchid985 at gmail dot com

  9. Yum! Those look delish. Love using almonds to make homemade almond butter.

  10. i love using it in my granola!

  11. I like to add a little seasoning to almonds and roasting them in the oven. I think it makes almonds more like a healthy version of chips!

  12. I like to add a little seasoning and then roast them in the oven. I think it makes them taste a little like chips!

  13. I like using almond flour for baking and making pancakes.

  14. -https://twitter.com/tcarolinep/status/435250450149826560

  15. I like almonds cookies

    thank you for the giveaway!

  16. I love putting roasted almonds in pasta and roasted veggies!

  17. I love use put roasted almonds on my pasta!

  18. I love to add it to bananas, honey and peanut butter together with almonds on top.

  19. I like to make homemade almond butter

  20. Tweeted:

  21. tweeted: https://twitter.com/justtellmewhen/status/435293633860755456

  22. Very creative recipe! I love the incorporation of maca too. I actually used both almonds and maca in a fruit and nut energy bites recipe I’m still playing around with. It actually is close to yours without the cocoa powder.

  23. almond cookies

  24. tweeted:

    (first comment as Janice)

  25. I’m not sure if the giveaway is open to Canadians, but I wanted to say that your brownies look amazing! I usually just toast almonds and them to things like vegetables or oatmeal.

  26. I usually eat almonds with cereal or by itself.

  27. I love love love almond milk & just snacking on almonds! Thanks for the chance to win

  28. I tweeted 🙂 https://twitter.com/Organicall_You/status/436528960802156544

  29. I like to eat them raw or in salads

  30. Hey there! Just yesterday I used sliced almonds in my kale & blueberry smoothie as well as toasted almonds in a side of steamed carrots for dinner! Ill be posting a recipe on my blog soon!! 🙂

  31. Sprinkled on top of salad! Yum!

  32. I like almonds sauteed with green beans, sprinkled on salads, and baked in biscotti


Leave a Reply

Categories

