Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | June 26, 2014

Tomato Mozzarella Salad with Garlic Scape Pesto

This week, I found myself at the farmer’s market, not once, but twice! Like, in the matter of two days. I seriously can’t help myself though. If you’ve ever been to a farmer’s market, hopefully you can relate to the pure joy I feel while casually strolling through. They just make me feel so gosh darn elated! If you have never been, get goin’! Check out my top reasons for eating locally here and find your closest farmer’s market here. 

I love seeing the dirt on the fresh produce, chatting with the friendly local farmers, and trying new foods! I’m always spotting produce that I’ve never cooked with before. The year we had a CSA it was produce like kohlrabi, watercress, and pea shoots that made their debut in my kitchen. This past Tuesday, a couple new things caught my eye.

Like these freakin’ adorable baby carrots. How could I resist?

Farmer's Market Baby Carrots | Peace, Love, and Food

 And these wild and crazy garlic scapes! Detected a slight resemblance to myself when I roll out of bed first thing in the morning.

Farmer's Market garlic scapes | Peace, Love, and Food

 I’ve also been looking for an excuse to use the basil from our fire-escape garden (yes, this is city living at its finest for ya).

IMG_4274

Plus, I snagged some tomatoes and fresh mozzarella from my first farmer’s market stop this week so I decided to put it all together in one delicious appetizer.

Tomato and Mozzarella Salad with Garlic Scape Pesto | Peace, Love, and Food

Tomato and Mozzarella Salad with Garlic Scape Pesto

Serves 4-6

Ingredients:

1 bunch garlic scapes, flowers and tough ends removed

1 cup fresh basil, packed

1/2 cup pine nuts

1/3 cup parmesan cheese

1 cup extra-virgin olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

2 large tomatoes, sliced

8oz fresh mozzarella, sliced

Olive oil and balsamic vinegar to drizzle

Directions:

In a food processor, add garlic scapes, basil, parmesan, pine nuts, olive oil and pulse to combine. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Alternate tomato and mozzarella slices to create towers and top off with a dollop of the pesto. Drizzle olive oil and balsamic vinegar over the towers.

Tomato and Mozzarella Salad with Garlic Scape Pesto | Peace, Love, and Food

 

Tomato and Mozzarella Salad with Garlic Scape Pesto | Peace, Love, and Food

Responses

  1. Ahhh, I have professed my love for garlic scapes this time of year (of course I just posted a recipe using them too) but your salad here is seriously something I could eat DAILY all summer long 🙂

  2. These are so adorable! They remind me of Dr. Seuss! 🙂 What a great take on a traditional caprese salad! Nom!

  3. This looks really yummy! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

