Posted by: Kara @ The Foodie Dietitian | July 10, 2014

Curry Roasted Baby Carrots

Have you ever purchased a vegetable because it looked so gosh darn cute? Yes, I said cute in reference to vegetables. Is it obvious by now that I look at my produce with love and adoration? If it’s fresh, local, and sitting at my favorite farmer’s market, how can I not?

Curry Roasted Baby Carrots | Peace, Love, and Food

Curry Roasted Baby Carrots | Peace, Love, and Food

It’s kind of like how I sometimes purchase bottles of wine solely based on the label. Cool label? Must be good. Same with the baby carrots I recently picked up at the farmer’s market. They looked adorably tiny and all baby-like so I thought, these are cute. Must taste good.

Sometimes we overcomplicate our food purchasing decision making. I like to keep it simple.

Curry Roasted Baby Carrots | Peace, Love, and Food

So, the cute baby carrots were purchased and I decided to roast them for Steve and I and served them with salmon and brown rice. I simply roasted them in the oven with EVOO, cinnamon, salt, and pepper. Steve LOVED them (and he’s not your biggest vegetable advocate). So, for baby carrots round two, I decided to add one extra ingredient to give it a little extra oomph.

Curry Roasted Baby Carrots | Peace, Love, and Food

Curry Roasted Baby Carrots

Serves four

Ingredients:

1 bunch baby carrots, greens removed and washed thoroughly (approximately 18 carrots)

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp curry powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp cracked pepper

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

Toss carrots with olive oil, cinnamon, curry powder, salt and pepper and transfer to the baking sheet. Roast in the oven for 15 minutes, or until tender.

Note: If baby carrots aren’t in season, you can substitute with bagged baby carrots or regular carrots.

Curry Roasted Baby Carrots | Peace, Love, and Food

Curry Roasted Baby Carrots | Peace, Love, and Food

Curry Roasted Baby Carrots | Peace, Love, and Food

Have you ever purchased a vegetable solely on its looks? What gems have you found lately at your farmer’s market?

& Congrats to the winners of the Welch’s Fruit Juice giveaway: Dawn, Rachel, Elis, and Jo-Ann! I’ll be in touch soon to coordinate mailing you your FREE Welch’s coupons.

Responses

  1. Interesting take on vegetables! We all should admire our vegetables 🙂

  2. I buy SO MANY fruits and vegetables from the farmers market simply because I thought they were cute. Love this flavor combination!

  3. i don’t blame you… those carrots are adorable. and i love how you used them… roasting and curry, delicious!

    • Right?! I think all veggies should have baby versions. Just sayin.

  4. Yum, those carrots are seriously almost to pretty to eat! Pinned this so I can remember to add some curry to carrots, sounds delicious!

  5. I’m convinced baby carrots taste better just by their cuteness alone 🙂

    • Totally. I think we’re onto something here… 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

